婦科腫瘤科服務

港怡醫院經驗分享-卵巢癌的治療

卵巢癌概述

根據香港癌症資料統計中心的數據,卵巢癌是第六大最常見的女士癌症,在婦科癌症中更排名第二。2017年,香港有651名病人被診斷患上卵巢癌。

   
有別於能透過子宮頸抹片檢查發現的子宮頸癌,卵巢癌在早期或癌前階段並無有效的篩查測試。在早期階段,卵巢癌通常沒有任何症狀。而當症狀出現時,這些症狀往往都較為不典型,並可能與其他常見疾病混淆。其中部分症狀可能包括腹脹、腹部不適和容易有飽腹感。

  
在初步確診的卵巢癌患者中,四人中有三人已處於第三或四期。在這個階段,癌症已經擴散到腹膜,導致液體(腹水)積聚,繼而影響腸功能,因而出現腹脹、腹部不適和容易有飽腹感的症狀。卵巢癌的初步診斷,是根據高升的血液腫瘤標記(CA 125)腹部超聲波、電腦斷層掃描或磁力共振中顯示的卵巢腫瘤,以及腹膜擴散和出現腹水來確定。

   
此時,初步診斷出患上卵巢癌的病人將獲轉介至婦科腫瘤科醫生。婦科腫瘤科醫生有責任得出明確的診斷,以及為患者擬定隨後的治療方案。

在港怡醫院(港怡),主診的婦科腫瘤科醫生會得到由婦科腫瘤科、臨床腫瘤科、腫瘤外科、腫瘤內科、放射科和病理科醫生所組成的跨專科團隊的支持。這個跨專科醫生團隊會組成一個婦科腫瘤學委員會。自醫院成立以來,婦科腫瘤學委員會定期舉行會議,其中第28次會議已在2020年10月5日舉行。歡迎所有對治療婦科癌症有興趣的醫生參加。

  
會議中,婦科腫瘤學委員會探討了為婦科癌症患者而設的最新循證治療的方法,從而了解當中哪些治療方法和程序,可以於港怡安全且有效地應用在婦科癌症患者身上。癌症治療的發展一日千里,團隊除了必須追上最新的研究步伐外,亦同時要考慮在港怡為患者提供手術、化療、標靶療法和其他證實為有效的全面治療方案。

  
此外,婦科腫瘤學委員會亦討論所有在港怡接受手術的婦科癌症患者,以確保她們獲得最適當的治療。對於在港怡獲認可進行婦科癌症手術的所有醫生,這些討論工作亦有助檢視他們所提供的治療。據我們所知,這是香港唯一專為此目的,而定期舉行婦科腫瘤學委員會會議的私營醫院。

  
婦科腫瘤學委員會的跨專科性質,確保了港怡在治療每位婦科癌症病人時,能發揮團隊成員的綜合專科經驗,公開、不偏不倚地檢視每位患者所接受的治療,確保港怡的病人得到具品質保證的服務。注重在港怡建立、促進和推行有效的臨床管治,是港怡與香港大學合作的重要信念。

   
自從婦科腫瘤學委員會成立後,大家都目睹了跨專科團隊在處理複雜癌症病例上的好處和優勢,因此港怡的其他外科專科亦開始根據各自的專科領域,定期召開腫瘤委員會會議。

末期卵巢癌的主要治療方法是手術和化療(提供或不提供標靶治療)。隨著近年在治療卵巢癌上取得最新進展,包括在適當時機下進行合適的手術、HIPEC,標靶治療、維持治療和其他較新的治療方法,我們持續發現末期卵巢癌患者的生存機率有所提升(正如下圖所示)。在最理想的情況下,假如患者在專門的頂尖治療中心獲得治療,他們在五年間的相對存活率是60%至70%,相比數十年前的20%至30%有大幅改善。

Survival-Trend_Ovarian-Cancer-Chineser.JPG#asset:212315


存活率的其中一個最重要指標,是手術團隊從腹膜腔中清除所有可見腫瘤的能力。研究顯示,假如在沒有可見殘留腫瘤的情況下,相比起有殘留1-10毫米的腫瘤結節,沒有肉眼可見殘留腫瘤的患者,其生存時間中位數可獲延長46.9個月(Bristow,2002年)。因此,跨專科團隊為個別患者選擇最適當的手術方案(即在決定哪些患者能透過直接減瘤手術改善病情,或哪些患者更適合先接受化療(前輔助性化療)以縮小腫瘤,再嘗試接受間隔減瘤手術),這是至關重要的決定。有見及此,團隊研究了所有可用的臨床資訊,包括影像檢查(超聲波、電腦斷層、磁力共振、正電子放射斷層掃描)。一般情況之下,醫生會安排患者接受腹腔鏡檢查,以獲得組織學診斷並做出正確的腫瘤分期判斷,評估患者適合接受直接減瘤手術還是間隔減瘤手術。隨著新證據的出現,作出這個重要決定的標準和評分系統會不斷得到微調。

  
透過單一臍帶切口來進行腹腔鏡腫瘤分期手術,是治療疑似卵巢癌患者的重要第一步。選擇腹腔鏡檢查和單一切口,可令患者迅速康復,以讓她能盡快接受下一階段的治療。腹腔鏡除了可以獲取組織對卵巢癌進行明確的組織學診斷外,亦可以讓團隊評估癌病的分期和腫瘤分布的位置。醫生會根據各種評分系統,決定患者是否適合接受直接減瘤手術,還是更適合接受前輔助性化療和間隔減瘤手術。

  
不論採用哪一種評分系統,最重要的是外科團隊可否在直接減瘤手術中,消除患者身上的明顯的癌病灶。如果可以,醫生便會計劃為患者進行直接減瘤手術(在提供或不提供HIPEC之下);如果不可以,則患者會接受前輔助性化療和間隔減瘤手術(在提供或不提供HIPEC之下)。

  
這個決定很大程度上須按照個別患者的情況,以及根據團隊對患者的整體健康狀況評估、腫瘤的最終分期和組織學、腫瘤位置,以及是否適合透過直接減瘤手術來消除可見腫瘤而定。舉例來說,對於一般情況較差、有其他病患且手術風險較高的患者,團隊可能會考慮首先採用前輔助性化療來縮小腫瘤,從而進行較溫和的間隔減瘤手術以減輕手術風險。

  
又例如,對於一個身體狀況好的患者來說,由於小腸和腸繫膜上有大量腫瘤結節,而完全切除小腸會令患者無法生存,因此醫生會決定進行前輔助性化療。這只是跨專科團隊作出適合每一個患者的決定時,需要考慮的其中兩種情況而已。

  
多年來,末期卵巢癌症的外科手術一直在進步。較新的技術和儀器,以及婦科腫瘤科醫生和腫瘤外科醫生之間更緊密的合作,令外科團隊在進行減瘤手術上成果愈見理想,因為這是一個徹底清除所有可見腫瘤最有效的方法。

為了令減瘤手術的效果更加顯著,在完成減瘤手術時所使用的腹腔溫熱灌注化療(HIPEC),也變得愈來愈受到關注。對婦科腫瘤科醫生來說,要持續提升末期卵巢癌症患者的生存率,使用HIPEC是一個合理的趨勢。

  
化療通常會在靜脈中用藥。但是卵巢癌大多數情況是一種局限在腹膜內的疾病,因此當在靜脈內使用化療藥物時,只有一小部分藥物能穿過腹膜血漿屏障,到達卵巢癌細胞所在的腹膜中。因此進行化療的更佳方法,是將化療藥物直接用於腹膜腔中(腹膜內化療)。

  
事實上,研究顯示相對於常見的靜脈化療,在腹膜內使用化療藥物可令患者的生存時間延長16個月。然而,在實際情況下,手術後在腹膜內進行化療會產生各種副作用,包括導管阻塞,患者不便和手術後粘連等,這些情況會妨礙在腹膜腔內的化療藥物均勻地散佈到整個腹膜腔。因此,即使腹膜內化療能延長患者的生存時間,但這個方法並未得到廣泛採用。

  
HIPEC是在成功完成減瘤手術後,在手術期間進行的腹膜內化療。在港怡,我們使用閉合式技術。具體是,在成功完成徹底減瘤手術後,患者的腹部會暫時閉合。當患者仍在麻醉狀態時,醫生會在腹膜腔內放置兩根連接著外部機器的導管。機器會將化療藥物(在這種情況下,會為患者提供劑量經過計算的順鉑)加熱到42°C,然後透過一條導管將化療藥物泵入腹膜腔內。只要藥物的份量足夠,便可確保整個腹膜腔都注滿化療溶液。另一條導管,則將腹膜腔內的流出物送回到機器中。如此之下,化療藥物便能在設定的42°C下,持續循環流動90分鐘以浸洗腹膜腔。程序結束時,醫生會重新打開腹部並完成手術,然後讓患者回復清醒狀態。
 

What-is-HIPEC-Chinese.JPG#asset:212178

HIPEC的好處包括:

  1. 熱力有助藥物更好地滲透到身體組織中
  2. 熱力能提升所選化療藥物的細胞毒性
  3. 熱力本身具有抗腫瘤作用
  4. 腹膜內化療可確保在腹膜表面得到高濃度的抗癌治療
  5. 腹膜內化療可以解決腹膜血漿屏障的問題

CRS_HIPEC-Chinese.JPG#asset:212179


2018年1月18日,《新英格蘭醫學雜誌》發表了一項劃時代的重大研究。這項研究是一個前瞻性隨機試驗,其中顯示相比於單獨進行手術,在間隔減瘤手術中採用HIPEC可令患者的總生存時間延長12個月。2018年1月31日,港怡團隊進行了香港第一宗HIPEC卵巢癌手術。

在港怡,化療由臨床腫瘤科或腫瘤內科醫生進行。完成化療後,醫生將會為適合的患者提供維持治療,當中可能包括口服標靶治療以減少復發的機會。

  
過去幾年,末期卵巢癌症患者的治療發展不斷成熟。相比起30年前這批女士的五年生存率只有20%至30%,我們現在看到接受過適當治療的女士,她們的相對五年生存率接近70%。

  
在港怡,我們的婦科腫瘤科團隊致力為患上卵巢癌的女士提供最佳的循證治療。我們的首要目標,是確保患者得到最安全和最合符成本效益的診治。我們攜手合作,並充分利用跨專科團隊成員的綜合經驗,以致力為病人提供最合適和創新的卵巢癌治療。

56歲的陳太因過去三星期出現腹部不適和腹脹情況惡化,向她的家庭醫生諮詢。她表示只是進食小量食物便會出現飽脹的感覺(容易有飽腹感)。她在52歲時停經,自此以後陰道沒有異常出血。此外,她的大小便習慣亦很正常。兩年前,她接受了普通婦科檢查,包括子宮頸抹片檢查和盆腔超聲波檢查。

  
家庭醫生仔細地為陳太檢查後,發現她的腹部因液體(腹水)積聚而出現中度擴張。於是醫生安排她接受腹部超聲波檢查,結果顯示她出現中度腹水的情況,同時右邊有一個八厘米的子宮附件腫塊,疑似為卵巢癌。隨後,陳太獲轉介至普通婦科醫生以接受評估。

  
婦科醫生證實了上述發現,並進行了CA 125及CEA的腫瘤標記盆腔。當中CEA顯示正常,但CA 125卻明顯地升高至600 U/ml。另外醫生亦安排了腹部和骨盆的電腦斷層掃描,結果顯示有大量腹水,而且出現了多個不規則的腹膜和網膜腫塊,意味著陳太患上了腹膜惡性腫瘤,更提示是繼發性而非原發性。同時,掃描亦在右邊子宮附件區域發現了複雜腫塊,疑是原發性卵巢癌。因此初步診斷陳太患上了卵巢癌。

  
其後,陳太獲轉介至婦科腫瘤科醫生以接受進一步治療。

  
港怡專科門診部的婦科腫瘤科醫生與陳太見面,並查閱了她的病歷,為她進行了檢查和審閱了她的電腦斷層掃描結果。經過臨床評估後,醫生初步診斷陳太患上第三期卵巢癌,並與她討論了治療方案。

  
婦科腫瘤科醫生簡述了卵巢癌,以及癌細胞在腹膜腔中擴散的情況,並解釋下一個步驟是因應她的卵巢癌診斷結果獲取組織學上的證實。此外,醫生亦與陳太討論了在提供和不提供標靶治療下,手術和化療的作用。

  
醫生特別地詳細說明了獲取組織學診斷的手術,以及清除腹膜腔內所有可見的原發性和轉移性卵巢癌手術的作用。並解釋,假如確認無法徹底清除所有可見的腫瘤(直接減瘤手術),則可選擇先接受化療來將腫瘤縮小(前輔助性化療),隨後再進行手術以切除所有可見腫瘤(間隔減瘤手術)。

  
另外,醫生亦與陳太討論到在進行減瘤手術期間,可加入腹腔溫熱灌注化療(HIPEC)以增強和改善手術的效果。與此同時亦有談及到其他治療方法,包括標靶治療和維持治療。陳太有充分的機會發問,同時亦獲給予一些時間去消化所有獲得的資訊,並可先與家人和身邊其他重要的親人商討,再作出治療的決定。

  
陳太獲提供有關癌症管理的資料單張和網上資源,並且獲得有關費用方面的解釋,手術和其他治療的預期費用,從而讓陳太和家人清楚估算到當中涉及的總收費。

  
陳太與家人商討後,決定依照婦科腫瘤科醫生的建議接受腹腔鏡手術,以獲取卵巢癌的組織學診斷腫瘤分期,以及評估她是否適合接受直接減瘤手術,還是在前輔助性化療後才接受間隔減瘤手術。

  
陳太接受了一次透過單一臍帶切口進行的腹腔鏡腫瘤分期手術。婦科腫瘤科醫生抽出了腹水送細胞學檢查後,便徹底地評估了其腹膜腔,繪製出所有可見病變的位置和大小。醫生將右邊附件腫塊切除,並通過臍帶切口將之取出。網膜上大部分腫瘤亦以相似方式切除。醫生觀察到腹膜上存在腫瘤灶,同時小腸上亦有腫瘤灶。醫生為陳太進行了腹腔鏡腫瘤分期檢查、減瘤手術和組織學活檢。

  
在腹水細胞學檢查中,惡性細胞的結果為陽性。右邊附件腫塊和網膜腫瘤的組織學檢查,顯示為高級別漿液性卵巢癌,因此陳太所患的,是第三期(ⅢC)高級別漿液性卵巢癌。

  
觀察過陳太的腹腔鏡腫瘤分期手術結果後, 由於小腸和腸繫膜上有大量的腫瘤結節,因此她不適宜接受直接減瘤手術。醫生決定為她進行前輔助性化療,再考慮是否進行間隔減瘤手術(在提供或不提供HIPEC之下)。

  
負責為陳太進行化療的臨床腫瘤科醫生/腫瘤內科醫生評估了陳太的情況。 醫生討論了治療過程,以及擬定化療(卡鉑和紫杉醇)的副作用。 此外,醫生亦討論到為陳太進行癌細胞和生殖系細胞 BRCA 基因突變測試,若有 BRCA 基因突變,在完成治療後對維持治療會產生怎樣的影響。

   
陳太的婦科腫瘤科醫生評估了她在手術後的康復情況,並確定她適合接受化療。於是陳太開始接受了每週三次的卡鉑和紫杉醇治療。另外,婦科腫瘤學委員會亦討論了陳太的治療決定和計劃,以就治療達成共識。

  
陳太成功完成了每三週一次,合共三個週期包括了卡鉑和紫杉醇的前輔助性化療。在她身上出現的副作用很小,而且她對化療的耐受性很好。她的腫瘤標記CA 125降至正常水平(<35 U/ml)。醫生為她安排了正電子放射斷層掃描,並將這次掃描與她在治療前的掃描結果比較,發現情況有明顯的改善,腹膜腔內大部分病變都已經消除。

   
經過婦科腫瘤科醫生評估後,陳太獲安排接受間隔減瘤手術和HIPEC。醫生與陳太討論了相關手術程序和風險後,便安排她入院接受手術和HIPEC,並且順利完成手術。手術後她的康復進度良好,獲轉介至腫瘤科醫生,繼續完成化療。

   
完成化療後,陳太的腫瘤科醫生亦與她討論了較新的標靶療法,這種療法可減少卵巢癌復發的機會。

查詢/預約:

+852 3153 9153(婦產科門診)

Gynaecological Cancer Services

Treatment for Epithelial Cancer of the Ovary at Gleneagles Hong Kong Hospital (GHK) – The GHK Experience

Overview of ovarian cancer

According to data from the Hong Kong Cancer Registry, cancer of the ovary is the sixth commonest female cancer and ranks second for gynaecological cancer. In 2017 in Hong Kong, 651 patients were diagnosed to have cancer of the ovary.
  

Unlike cancer of the cervix with the Pap smear, there is no effective screening test for early or pre-cancer of the ovary. In the early stage, cancer of the ovary is usually asymptomatic. When symptoms appear, they are vague and can be confused with other common conditions. Some symptoms may include abdominal distension, abdominal discomfort and easy satiety.
  

At initial presentation, 3 of 4 patients with ovarian cancer are already Stage III/IV. At this time, there is already spread of cancer to the abdominal peritoneum causing accumulation of fluid (ascites). These disturb the bowel function and hence the presenting symptoms of abdominal distension, abdominal discomfort and easy satiety. A provisional diagnosis of cancer of the ovary is made based on an elevated blood tumour marker (CA 125) and ultrasound, CT scan or MRI of the abdomen showing enlarged ovarian tumours, peritoneal spread of disease and presence of ascites.
  

It is at this juncture that the patient will be referred to a Gynaecological Oncologist with a provisional diagnosis of cancer of the ovary. It is the responsibility of the Gynaecological Oncologist to come to a definitive diagnosis and plan the patient’s subsequent treatment.

In Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong (GHK), the Gynaecological Oncologist is supported by a multi-disciplinary team consisting of gynaecological oncologists, clinical oncologists, surgical oncologists, medical oncologists, radiologists and pathologists. This multi-disciplinary team of doctors constitute the Gynaecological Oncology Tumour Board. Since the inception of the hospital, the Gynaecological Oncology Tumour Board has met regularly and the 28th meeting was held on 5th October 2020. This meeting is open to all doctors interested in the management of gynaecological cancers.
  

The Gynaecological Oncology Tumour Board meets to consider the latest evidence-based treatment for patients with gynaecological cancers, to see which of these treatments and procedures can be safely and effectively applied to patients with gynaecological cancers at GHK. The speed of advance in cancer care is such that the team needs to be up to date with the latest research, and the full arsenal of available surgery, chemotherapy, targeted therapy and other proven treatments can be considered for patients at GHK.
  

The Gynaecological Oncology Tumour Board also discusses all patients with gynaecological cancers operated on in GHK, to ensure that patients are receiving the most appropriate care. This also serves as an audit and check on the treatment provided by all doctors accredited to perform gynaecological cancer procedures in GHK. To our knowledge, it is the only private hospital in Hong Kong to have a dedicated, regular meeting of the Gynaecological Oncology Tumour Board for this purpose.
  

The multi-disciplinary nature of the Gynaecological Oncology Tumour Board ensures that the combined experience of the members of the team are utilised in the management of every patient with gynaecological cancer in GHK. The open and frank audit of the management of patients ensures quality assurance for patients at GHK. It is a key tenet of GHK’s partnership with The University of Hong Kong to build, promote and implement strong clinical governance at GHK.
  

Since the advent of the Gynaecological Oncology Tumour Board, other surgical disciplines at GHK have also started regular tumour board meetings for their respective specialties at GHK as the benefits and advantages of a multi-disciplinary team approach for the management of complex cancer cases are seen.

The mainstay of treatment for advanced stage ovarian cancer is surgery and chemotherapy with or without targeted therapy. With the recent advances in the management of epithelial ovarian cancer including appropriate use and timing of surgery, HIPEC, targeted therapy, maintenance therapy and other newer treatment modalities, we continue to see an improvement in survival rates of advanced epithelial ovarian cancer, as the above chart shows. In the best scenarios when patients are managed at dedicated centres of excellence, we are seeing 5-year relative survival rates of 60% to 70% compared to 20% to 30% a few decades ago.
  

Survival-Trend_Ovarian-Cancer-English.JPG#asset:211937:url


One of the most important indicators of survival is how well the surgical team is able to remove all visible tumours from the peritoneal cavity. Research has shown that the difference between leaving no macroscopic tumour behind vs leaving 1-10mm tumour nodules behind is an improvement of 46.9 months in median survival if no visible tumour is left behind (Bristow, 2002). Hence the importance of the multi-disciplinary team decisions on selecting the most appropriate surgical management for the individual patient, to decide which patient would benefit from primary debulking surgery, or which patient is better suited to have chemotherapy first (neoadjuvant chemotherapy) to shrink the tumours before an attempt at interval debulking surgery. To this end, the team considers all the available clinical information including imaging (Ultrasound, CT, MRI, PET-CT). Often, a laparoscopic staging procedure is arranged to obtain histological diagnosis and evaluate whether patient is more suitable for a primary or interval debulking. The criteria and scoring systems for making this important decision is constantly being fine-tuned as new evidence comes to light.
  

The laparoscopic staging procedure through a single umbilical incision is an important first step in the management of a patient with suspected cancer of the ovary. The choice of laparoscopy and a single incision allows rapid healing and recovery of the patient so she can quickly go on to the next phase of treatment. Apart from making a definitive histological diagnosis of ovarian cancer, the laparoscopy allows the team to evaluate the stage and location of disease. Based on various scoring systems, a decision is then made whether the patient is suitable for primary debulking surgery or more suited to neoadjuvant chemotherapy and interval debulking surgery.
  

Regardless of the scoring system used, the crucial question to answer is whether the surgical team is able to completely debulk the patient to no visible disease at primary debulking surgery. If the answer is yes, she is planned for primary debulking surgery with or without HIPEC. If the answer is no, she is planned for neoadjuvant chemotherapy and interval debulking surgery with or without HIPEC.
  

The decision is highly individualised and is based on the team’s assessment of the patient’s general health, the final staging and histology of the tumour, the location of the tumour and whether it is suitable for successful primary debulking surgery to no visible tumour. For example in a patient with poor general condition and co-morbidity with a higher surgical risk, the team may consider neoadjuvant chemotherapy to shrink the tumour first so that a less radical interval debulking surgery with lower surgical risk could be done.
  

On the other hand, in an otherwise fit patient, the decision is made for neoadjuvant chemotherapy because of extensive tumour nodules on the small bowel and mesentery as complete resection of small bowel is incompatible with survival. These are just two of the permutations that the multi-disciplinary team need to consider when coming to an individualised decision for every patient.
  

Surgery for advanced stage epithelial ovarian cancer has continued to make progress over the years. Newer techniques and instruments together with greater collaboration between gynaecological and surgical oncologists means surgical teams are getting better at achieving optimal debulking which ideally is the complete removal of all visible tumour.

To further enhance the effect of a successful optimal debulking, the use of Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy (HIPEC) at the completion of surgical debulking has gained traction over the years. The use of HIPEC came about as a logical evolution of what Gynaecological Oncologists have achieved in continuing to improve the survival of patients with advanced epithelial ovarian cancers.
 

Chemotherapy is conventionally administered intravenously. However, carcinoma of the ovary is by and large an intraperitoneal disease. Therefore when chemotherapy is administered intravenously, only a small proportion of chemotherapy drugs cross the peritoneal plasma barrier to reach the peritoneum where the ovarian cancer cells are. A more logical way of administering chemotherapy would be to give the chemotherapy directly into the peritoneal cavity (intraperitoneal chemotherapy).
  

In fact studies have shown that administering chemotherapy intraperitoneally increases the survival by 16 months compared to conventional intravenous chemotherapy. However, in practical terms, postoperative intraperitoneal chemotherapy is associated with side-effects, catheter blockages, patient inconvenience and postoperative adhesions which may hamper the distribution of chemotherapy evenly in the peritoneal cavity to reach the whole peritoneal cavity. Therefore the use of intraperitoneal chemotherapy was not as widespread despite its survival advantages.
  

HIPEC is intraperitoneal chemotherapy administered at the time of surgery after successful complete debulking surgery. In GHK, we use the closed technique. Essentially, at the end of successful complete debulking surgery, the patient’s abdomen is temporarily closed. While still under anaesthesia, two tubes are in place in the peritoneal cavity connected to a machine outside. The machine heats the chemotherapy drug, in this case cisplatin at a dose calculated for the patient to a temperature of 42°C and then pumps the chemotherapy drug into the peritoneal cavity through one tube. An adequate volume ensures that the whole of the peritoneal cavity is bathed in this chemotherapy solution. The other tube is the outflow from the peritoneal cavity back to the machine. In this way, the chemotherapy drug is continuously circulated to bath the peritoneal cavity at a set temperature of 42°C for 90 minutes. At the end of this time, the abdomen is re-opened and surgery completed and patient is brought out of anaesthesia.

What-is-HIPEC-English.jpg#asset:211938:url

The advantages of HIPEC are:

  1. Heat increases drug penetration into tissue
  2. Heat has anti-tumour effects by itself
  3. Heat increases cytotoxicity of the selected chemotherapy agents
  4. Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy assure a high concentration of anticancer therapy at the peritoneal surfaces
  5. Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy can overcome peritoneal-plasma barrier
     

CRS_HIPEC-English.JPG#asset:211939:url

 
On January 18, 2018 a landmark study was published in the New England Journal of Medicine. This was a prospective randomised trial which showed that the addition of HIPEC to interval debulking surgery conferred a 12 months increase in overall survival compared to surgery alone. On January 31, 2018, the team at GHK performed the first HIPEC surgery for ovarian cancer in Hong Kong.

At GHK, chemotherapy is administered by clinical or medical oncologists. Upon completion of chemotherapy, suitable patients are offered maintenance treatment, which may consist of oral targeted therapy to decrease the chance of recurrence.
  

The last few years has seen rapid advances in the care of women with advanced stage ovarian cancer. Compared to 30 years ago when the 5-year survival rate was 20% to 30% in this group of women, we are now seeing relative 5-year survival rates approaching 70% in selected women with appropriate treatment.
  

At GHK, our multidisciplinary team in Gynaecological Oncology are committed to offering the best evidence-based treatment for our women with ovarian cancer. Our priority is to ensure that our patients receive the safest and most cost-effective care. Working together and taking full advantage of the combined experiences of our multidisciplinary team members, we are committed to providing the most appropriate and innovative care for our patients.

Mrs. Chan, 56 years old, consulted her General Practitioner (GP) for abdominal discomfort and distension worsening over the past 3 weeks. She reported a sensation of feeling full after eating only a small amount (easy satiety). She had menopause at 52 years old and had no abnormal vaginal bleeding since. Her urinary and bowel habits were normal. She had a normal gynaecological examination including Pap smear and pelvic ultrasound two years ago.  
  

Her GP did a careful examination and found that her abdomen was moderately distended with fluid (ascites). An abdominal ultrasound was ordered and this showed moderate ascites and an 8 cm right adnexal mass suspicious for ovarian cancer. She was then referred back to her regular gynaecologist for assessment.
  

Her gynaecologist confirmed the above findings. Tumour markers CA 125 and CEA were done. CEA was normal but CA 125 was markedly elevated to 600 U/ml. A CT scan of the abdomen and pelvis was arranged. This showed massive ascites with multiple irregular enhancing peritoneal and omental masses suggestive of peritoneal malignancy, more likely secondary rather than primary. A complex mass was seen in the right adnexal region suspicious for primary ovarian cancer. A provisional diagnosis of ovarian cancer was made. She was then referred to see a gynaecological oncologist for further management.
  

Mrs. Chan was seen by a gynaecological oncologist at GHK’s Specialist Outpatient Clinic. Her history was reviewed, an examination done and CT scans reviewed. After clinical evaluation, a provisional diagnosis of Stage III carcinoma of the ovary was made and the treatment plan discussed with Mrs. Chan.
  

The gynaecological oncologist gave an overview of ovarian cancer and how it spreads in the peritoneal cavity. It was explained that the next step was to obtain a histological confirmation of her diagnosis of ovarian cancer. The role of surgery and chemotherapy with or without targeted therapy was also discussed.
  

In particular, the role of surgery in obtaining a histological diagnosis and for the removal of all visible primary and metastatic ovarian cancer in the peritoneal cavity was emphasised. It was also explained that if it was judged that a complete removal of all visible tumour was not possible (primary debulking), there was the option of using chemotherapy to shrink the tumour first (neoadjuvant chemotherapy) before surgery is done to remove all visible tumour at a later stage (interval debulking).
  

The addition of Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy (HIPEC) at the time of debulking surgery to enhance the effects of the surgery and to improve results was also discussed. Other modalities of treatment including targeted therapy and maintenance therapy was also discussed at this juncture. Mrs. Chan was given ample opportunities to ask questions. She was also invited to take some time to process all the information she had been given, and to discuss with her family and significant others before coming to a decision on treatment.
  

Information sheets and web resources on cancer management was given to Mrs. Chan. A Fee Advisory was arranged to discuss the expected costs of the surgery and treatments proposed so Mrs. Chan and her family had a clear understanding of the estimated total costs involved.
  

After discussing with her family, Mrs. Chan decided to follow the recommendation of the gynaecological oncologist to have a laparoscopic staging procedure to obtain a histological diagnosis of cancer of the ovary as well as to evaluate whether she is suitable for primary debulking or interval debulking after neoadjuvant chemotherapy.
  

A single incision laparoscopic staging procedure was done for Mrs. Chan. This was performed through a single umbilical incision. After removing the ascitic fluid which was sent for cytological examination, a thorough evaluation of the peritoneal cavity was made, mapping the location and size of all visible lesions. The right adnexal mass was removed surgically and retrieved through the umbilical incision. The bulk of tumour on the omentum was similarly removed. It was noted there were peritoneal seedlings of tumour on the peritoneum, as well as tumour seedlings on the small bowel. A laparoscopic staging procedure, debulking of tumour and biopsy was done.
  

Cytological examination of the ascitic fluid was positive for malignant cells. Histology of the right adnexal mass and omental tumour showed High Grade Serous Carcinoma of the Ovary. Mrs Chan had Stage IIIC High Grade Serous Carcinoma of the Ovary.
  

Mrs. Chan was seen with the results of her laparoscopic staging procedure. Because of the extensive tumour nodules on the small bowel and mesentery, she was not suitable for primary debulking surgery. The decision was made for neoadjuvant chemotherapy and then consideration for interval debulking surgery with or without HIPEC later.
  

Mrs. Chan was evaluated by the Clinical Oncologist/Medical Oncologist who would be responsible for her chemotherapy. The procedure of administration, side-effects of the proposed chemotherapy: carboplatin and paclitaxel were discussed. The utility of somatic and germline mutation testing of her cancer cells for BRCA mutation and its impact on maintenance therapy after completion of treatment was also discussed.
  

Once her Gynaecological Oncologist had evaluated Mrs. Chan’s postoperative recovery and pronounced her fit for chemotherapy, she was started on her 3 weekly cycle of carboplatin and paclitaxel. Her treatment decisions and plans were also discussed at the Gynaecological Oncology Tumour Board to arrive at a consensus for her treatment.
  

Mrs. Chan successfully completed 3 cycles of neoadjuvant chemotherapy consisting of carboplatin and paclitaxel every three weeks. She had minimal side-effects and tolerated chemotherapy well. Her tumour markers CA 125 decreased to a normal level (<35 U/ml). A PET- CT scan was done. This was compared to her pre-treatment PET-CT and there was marked improvement with resolution of most lesions in the peritoneal cavity.

After evaluation by her gynaecological oncologist, she was scheduled for an interval cytoreductive surgery and HIPEC. The procedure and risks were discussed with her. An admission was arranged for surgery and HIPEC which was done successfully. She recovered well from her surgery and was referred back to her oncologist for completion of her chemotherapy.
  

Upon completion of her chemotherapy, her oncologist will also discuss with her newer targeted therapies which can decrease the chance of recurrence of her ovarian cancer.

Enquiries/Appointments:

+852 3153 9153 (Obstetrics & Gynaecology Clinic)