小儿发烧如何处理?

儿科


  

尽管儿童发烧非常普遍,但并非所有家长都懂得处理。相信不少爸妈都曾遇上以下难题:深夜时分,宝宝突然发烧,应持续观察,还是应马上带他看医生?

 

目前为止,「发烧」并没有一个公认的定义,部分医院和诊所定义体温高于37.8度或38度为发烧。至于「发高烧」,大多定义为体温高于38.5度,因为每十名体温高于38.5度的六个月至六岁的孩子中,就有一名出现「发烧抽筋」的现象,患者会突然昏迷、双眼反白、四肢抽搐,情况一般维持不多于五分钟。

 

我们得先了解,发烧度数与病情严重程度没有直接关系。举例说,患上普通感冒的孩子可以高烧40度至41度;患有严重疾病的孩子却可能只有低烧38度,例如细菌入血的孩子,即使只有低烧,仍随时有生命危险。因此要谨记,孩子高烧时不需过分担心,低烧时也不能掉以轻心。

 

那么,甚么时候应带孩子看医生呢?除了取决于发烧度数,还要考虑他们的年纪、病征、精神状况,及发烧时长等因素。

 

正常情况下,零至六个月的宝宝抵抗力较强,因为在母亲怀孕期间,抗体会经由胎盘转移给孩子,从而抵抗细菌及病毒侵袭。到了六个月左右,这些抗体才会渐渐消失。若发烧的孩子十分年幼,甚至不到三个月大,就代表他在免疫力强盛时仍出现问题,值得多加留意。

 

无论孩子年纪多大,若他们发烧同时不停呕吐、小便量少、抽搐、昏迷、精神不振甚至错乱,必须尽快求医,甚至须致电「999」召唤救护车将孩子送院。一般而言,如孩子感染了可自行痊愈的病毒感染,都会在五天内退烧,因此,如发烧持续五天,也应尽早看医生,判断是否因病毒感染引起并发症,以及是否需要另行下药处理。

 

相反,如发烧的孩子较为年长,精神状况良好,也没有出现其他病征,家长可持续观察,无须过于紧张,勉强在深夜前往急症室。

  

时有家长询问,该如何替孩子量度体温?传统上,我们会用水银温度计在肛门探热,但这个方法对许多家长来说不太方便。如不想进行肛探,可改为使用耳探温度计,而两个月或以下的宝宝,在腋下探热则较为准确;至于近年常见的红外线额头探热器,英国NICE指引则表示其准确度成疑,不建议使用。

Dealing with your child's fever

Paediatrics

Although fevers are very common in children, many parents aren't sure how to deal with them. As a parent, how often have you encountered the following dilemma: Your baby suddenly catches a fever late at night. Should you wait and see what happens, or take your baby to a doctor immediately?

  

There is no universally accepted definition for "fever." In general, hospitals and clinics define a fever as a body temperature of 37.8°C or 38°C (100°F) or above, and a "high fever" as higher than 38.5°C (101°F). This distinction is important because one out of every ten children aged six months to six years with a temperature higher than 38.5°C (101°F) experiences a phenomenon known as "fever cramps," where the child will go limp, their eyes will roll up, and their limbs will convulse. This condition generally lasts for no more than five minutes.

 

It's important to understand that degree of fever is not directly related to severity of disease. For example, a child with a common cold can have a high fever of 40-41°C (104-106°F), while a child with a serious illness may only have a low fever of 38°C (100°F). Similarly, children with bacteria in their blood can still be at risk, even if they only have a low fever. Therefore, you shouldn't worry overly when your child has a high fever, but you also shouldn't treat it lightly just because it's low.

 

So, how can you tell whether it's appropriate to take your child to the doctor? In addition to your child's degree of fever, you need to consider other factors, such as their age, symptoms and mental state, and the duration of their fever.

 

Under normal circumstances, babies who are new-born to six months old have better immunity. During pregnancy, antibodies are transferred from mother to child through the placenta, preventing the invasion of bacteria and viruses. After birth, it takes about six months for these antibodies to disappear. Babies less than 3 months old are presumed to have stronger immunity.  Unexplained fever may be a signs of severe illness in this group of children and parents should seek medical advice early even if the baby looks well.

 

No matter how old your child is, if their fever is accompanied by vomiting, diminished urination, convulsions, a coma, lack of energy or confusion, you should seek medical treatment as soon as possible, including calling "999" for an ambulance to take them to the hospital if necessary. In general, if your child is experiencing a virus infection that can heal itself, the fever should go away within five days. If the fever persists for more than five days, your child should see a doctor as soon as possible to determine whether the virus has caused further complications and a different medicine should be prescribed.

 

On the other hand, if your child is older, in a good mental state and has no other symptoms, their fever is less worrisome. In this situation, you can simply continue to observe their condition and skip the late-night trip to the ER.


Parents often ask the best way to check their child's temperature. Traditionally, children's temperatures are taken with a mercury-based anal thermometer, but many parents find this method inconvenient or uncomfortable, and may prefer using an ear thermometer instead. However, for babies under two months old, armpits provide a more accurate reading.