坏胆固醇乃真正元凶 用药降心血管疾病风险

2018年 10月 26日

心脏科, 心胸肺外科

Dr.TseTakSun_HKEJ_20181026.jpg#asset:52118

  

早前,一位女士拿着坊间体检中心的胆固醇报告找医生,说自己的数字比丈夫早前检查所得的为低,而丈夫早前检查心脏后显示并无问题,那是否等于她的心脏亦相当健康呢?近年港人的健康意识不断提升,体检已成为不少市民的定期指定动作。不过,体检套餐五花八门,要选择适合自己的套餐已颇具挑战性,检查后,面对一大堆体检数据,不少市民亦感到非常疑惑,其中一项与心脏健康有关的指标—总胆固醇,一旦超标,市民必然忧虑万分。那究竟应如何面对这个心脏病的「元凶」呢?

 

现时心脏病是仅次于癌症,肺炎的香港第三号杀手。在各类心脏病中,冠心病的死亡人数远超其他心脏病,而且近年有年轻化的趋势。

 

随著年岁增长,动脉内膜有脂性物质积聚,脂性物质积聚到某一程度,会使血管变窄,血管壁亦会因此失去弹性而硬化起来。此现象称为粥样硬化。

 

事实上,心脏全靠三条冠状动脉提供氧份,维持正常跳动及将血液输送至身体各个器官。试想像,如果这些血管收窄,血流岂非会大大受阻?那么,病人运动或情绪激动时,心脏需加倍工作,但却因血流量减慢得不到足够的氧份,病人会觉得前胸压痛、左手痳痹、冒冷汗、晕眩及呼吸困难。若果血管急性堵塞得不到及时抢救,心肌会因缺氧而坏死,甚至有生命危险

 

因此,市民必须及早「关心」自己的血管健康,而了解自己的胆固醇水平便是第一步。一般胆固醇检查会通过抽血,分析出血中胆固醇水平的高低,亦即所谓的血脂。众所周知,胆固醇偏高能影响身体健康,而部分体检报告只会列出总胆固醇水平,有些则会细分为三个水平,即高密度胆固醇、低密度胆固醇及三酸甘油脂。

 

不少市民都知晓「胆固醇过高」,会增加心血管疾病或中风的风险,其实是指低密度胆固醇(又俗称「坏胆固醇」)超标。当坏胆固醇积聚在血管中,可令血管变质、硬化,甚至出现堵塞。

 

若体检报告列出的只有总胆固醇水平,并不能反映坏胆固醇是否合格。相反,如报告显示,低密度胆固醇水平超过正常水平3.4mmol/L,则不能掉以轻心。

 

那是否所有人士都应以3.4mmol/L为目标呢?答案是「非也」。事实上,高风险人士的指标更为严格。所谓「高风险」,是指本身已有心血管疾病或周边血管毛病、曾中风人士、糖尿病患者等,坏胆固醇指标须低于1.8mmol/L才属理想,比一般人严谨得多。然而,这一点,很多患者并不知情。若以为低密度胆固醇水平只是「砸界」而忽略监测及治疗,会增加心血管病风险,甚至冠心病、中风复发。

 

那患者应如何降低胆固醇呢?提起降胆固醇,不少人会想到透过控制饮食来降低胆固醇水平。但事实上血液中低密度胆固醇祗有15>#span###至20>#span###由饮食直接摄取,食物中反式脂肪才是真正引致高胆固醇的元凶,例如炸薯条和曲奇饼等,都会使肝脏制造更多坏胆固醇,并减低好胆固醇,增加心血管疾病及中风风险

 

但若饮食控制后,坏胆固醇水平仍未大幅下降,包括患有心血管疾病人士、家族性高胆固醇血症患者等,则必须服食降胆固醇药物作治疗。

 

不少病人抗拒服药治疗,但高胆固醇是无形杀手,降胆固醇药物有助保护心血管,减低患心血管疾病风险。

 

现时,现时控制胆固醇的药物以他汀类(Statin)最为普遍,它可从源头出发,抑制肝脏制造胆固醇,将坏胆固醇降低三至五成。虽然他汀类功效佳,不过也有其局限性,因部份患者用到中至高剂量他汀类时,有机会出现肝酵素异常、肌肉酸痛及发炎等副作用。患者过往只能无奈面对种种局限,现时则可选择新型降胆固醇的生物针剂。

 

多年以来,降胆固醇药物治疗主要以口服为主,今年出现了突破性的注射型生物制剂,患者须每两星期注射一次,副作用较其他药物轻微,研究显示,它比口服药物更为有效,可减低坏胆固醇达60>#span###。与口服药一样,生物制剂需要长期使用,否则胆固醇便会「反弹」。


虽然药物不断进步,但患者亦必须调整生活习惯,如多菜少肉、多做运动、戒除烟酒、保持正常作息、时刻抱着乐观正面的心情,才能全面减低心血管疾病的风险。


Loading...
发生错误。
Thank you for your input.

Bad cholesterol is the real culprit – medication helps reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease 

19 August, 2020

Cardiology, Cardio-thoracic Surgery


Not too long ago, one of our patients showed her doctor the cholesterol report she received from a medical centre. Her cholesterol levels were lower than her husband’s, she noted, and he had been told his heart was healthy. Did that mean her heart was healthy, too? Hong Kong citizens have grown increasingly health conscious recently, and medical check-ups have become part of everyone’s regular routine. This is good news! However, with so many check-up packages in the market, it can be quite challenging to find the right ones for you – not to mention making sense of the medical data in your results afterwards. Let’s start with total cholesterol, one of the indicators related to heart health. If cholesterol levels exceed standard levels, this is cause for concern. So how should one deal with this ‘culprit’ of heart disease?

 

Heart disease is now the third biggest killer in Hong Kong, after cancer and pneumonia. Among the different types of heart disease, the number of deaths from coronary heart disease is particularly high, with a growing trend of showing in younger patients.

 

As one grows older, fatty tissue deposits (referred to as plaque) begin to accumulate on the inner walls of our arteries. Over time, this narrows the lumen of arteries, and causes them to lose their elasticity and harden. This phenomenon is called atherosclerosis.

 

The heart relies on three coronary arteries to provide oxygen, maintain a normal heart beat, and deliver blood to various organs in the body. Imagine what happens when these blood vessels narrow, and how that affects the blood flow to the heart. When a person exercises or gets emotional, the heart needs to work harder, but with narrowed arteries, the blood flow would be too slow to get enough oxygen. The person would feel a heaviness or tightness in their chest, numbness in their left hand, experience cold sweats, dizziness, and difficulty breathing. If the obstruction of arteries were acute, and not treated in time, the heart muscle would go necrotic due to hypoxia (lack of oxygen), threatening that person’s life.

 

This is why people need to be vigilant about the health of their blood vessels, and the first step is understanding cholesterol levels. A general cholesterol test analyses cholesterol levels through a blood test, measuring blood lipids. We all know that high cholesterol can affect our health, but some medical reports only list the total cholesterol levels, while others are divided into three parts: high-density lipoproteins (HDL), low-density lipoproteins (LDL), and triglycerides.

 

Many people immediately associate high cholesterol with an increased risk of cardiovascular diseases or stroke. More specifically, though, this happens when low-density lipoproteins (“bad cholesterol”) exceeds the standard level. When bad cholesterol accumulates in blood vessels, it can cause them to deteriorate, harden, and even blockage.

 

A medical report that only lists your total cholesterol level does not indicate the severity of this bad cholesterol, so it isn’t as much help as it might seem at first. However, a more detailed medical report showing that your low-density lipoproteins levels exceed the normal level of 3.4 mmol/L should be taken very seriously.

 

Should everyone aim for 3.4 mmol/L? No – for high-risk individuals, the target should be even lower. This includes people who have cardiovascular disease, peripheral vascular problems, diabetes, or who have previously had a stroke. Their ideal bad cholesterol index should be less than 1.8 mmol/L, much stricter than what’s asked of the average person. Recently published 2019 ESC guideline even recommend LDL <1.4mmol/L for very high risk individuals. However, many patients are unaware of this, and think that their low-density lipoprotein level is fine and needs no monitoring and treatment, which increases their risk of cardiovascular disease, coronary heart disease and stroke recurrence.

 

So, how should patients lower their cholesterol? Many assume it’s all about diet, but only 15% to 20% of low-density lipoproteins in the blood are directly ingested from food. The real culprit is trans fats. Foods such as French fries and cookies cause the liver to produce more bad cholesterol, reduce good cholesterol, and increase the risk of cardiovascular disease and stroke.

 

If bringing your diet under control doesn’t reduce your bad cholesterol levels enough, or you have cardiovascular disease or a family history of hypercholesterolemia, you will have to take cholesterol-lowering drugs as well.

 

Many patients resist taking medication, but high-cholesterol is an invisible killer. Cholesterol-lowering drugs are important to help protect your cardiovascular system and reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease.

 

Statins are currently the most common drugs used to control cholesterol. These suppress the production of cholesterol in the liver and reduce bad cholesterol by 30% to 50%. Statins are effective, but they have certain limitations. Some patients may have side effects such as liver enzyme abnormalities, muscle soreness, and inflammation when using medium to high doses. In the past, there was little choice but to deal with these side effects. Now, however, you can choose a new cholesterol-lowering injection instead.

 

While statins are most commonly used in lowering LDL-C, a recently published study revealed that only half of the people prescribed statins failed to reach their cholesterol goals. But now saw the breakthrough release of the injectable treatment. Injections are given once every two weeks, and the side effects are milder than other drugs. Studies have shown that it is also more effective than oral drugs and can reduce bad cholesterol by 60%. Like oral medicine, patients need to keep up with the injections, or their cholesterol levels will rebound.

 

Medications have improved, but patients must also work on improving themselves by adjusting their lifestyle habits. This includes eating more vegetables and less meat, doing more exercise, quitting smoking and alcohol, maintaining a healthy work-life balance, and staying upbeat. These are all important in reducing the risk of cardiovascular disease.