照胃镜的难题

儿科

 

陈先生最近因胃部剧痛求医,胃镜检查证实他患胃溃疡,化验后证实有幽门螺旋菌感染。虽然他四岁的女儿并无异样,也没有任何征状,但他担心孩子已受感染,于是带她求诊,希望儿科医生能安排化验。

 

无论是小朋友还是成年人,要诊断胃溃疡或十二指肠溃疡,最直接的方法是接受俗称胃镜的上消化道内窥镜检查,检查期间,患者会先接受镇静麻醉,医护人员才会置入内窥镜,观察怀疑位置是否存在溃疡,并抽取组织作化验之用。至于坊间的呼气测试及粪便测试,在儿科方面可用作检查治疗后是否成功清除幽门螺旋菌。若各方面顺利,整个过程一般只需10分钟左右。

 

儿童做胃镜的风险跟成年人一样,可谓十分安全,然而对小朋友来说,检查过程未必是个很好的体验。根据国际指引,绝大部分检验幽门螺旋菌的小朋友,是因为胃部或十二指肠出现溃疡。医生并不建议只有肚痛,但没有其他征状的小朋友接受幽门螺旋菌化验,更不赞成以化验幽门螺旋菌作为常规健康检查。

 

有家长担心,小朋友感染幽门螺旋菌后会引致胃癌。事实上,儿童跟成人不同,患上胃癌的风险十分低,而小朋友即使用药清除了幽门螺旋菌,高达20>#/span###会在一年内再受感染,因此对他们而言,化验幽门螺旋菌并非减低癌症风险的好方法。

 

若证实小朋友感染幽门螺旋菌,治疗跟成年人一样,小朋友须服用一种胃药及两只抗生素,整个疗程介乎10至14天。以往,医生一般只处方七天药物,但近年发现此做法难以清除幽门螺旋菌。

 

请不要小看小朋友服药两周的潜在问题。第一,很多小朋友的依从性低,因为药物味道不好,而且难以下咽,家长也因此需要很多时间和心血喂药。第二,胃药及抗生素或会引致副作用,可能导致肠胃不适及呕吐。第三,不少患者治疗幽门螺旋菌后,胃部释放出更多的胃酸,有机会加剧肚痛。

 

对小朋友来说,化验及治疗往往带出更多问题,不但未能帮助小朋友,反而有机会带来伤害。如小朋友没有征状,或只有单纯的肚痛,建议先带他们看医生做身体检查。根据统计数据,在五岁以下的小朋友当中,90>#/span###以上的肚痛都属于功能性,换言之,他们的肚痛并非由器官机能或结构问题引起。医生会根据小朋友的生长、食欲、有否贫血等情况,再考虑是否需要进一步检查。

The Problem with Gastroscopies

17 July, 2020

Paediatrics

  

When Mr Chan sought medical treatment due to severe stomach pain, a gastroscopy confirmed that he had a stomach ulcer and an Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori) infection. Although his 4-year old daughter had no symptoms, Mr Chan was worried that she might also have an infection, so he took her to the paediatrician for an examination.

 

The most direct way to diagnose a gastric or duodenal ulcer for both children and adults is an upper gastrointestinal endoscopy, commonly known as a gastroscopy. For the examination, the patient is sedated with anaesthesia. Then, the doctor inserts an endoscope down their throat and into the stomach and duodenum, which they use to check various regions for signs of an ulcer and to extract tissue for testing. After the course of treatment concludes, the paediatrician may consider a breath and stool test to confirm whether the H. pylori has been successfully eliminated. If everything goes smoothly, the whole process generally takes about 10 minutes.

 

Gastroscopies are very safe. However, although the risks of performing a gastroscopy are the same for both children and adults, the examination process may be very unpleasant for children. The vast majority of children who are tested for H. pylori have stomach or duodenal ulcers, in accordance with international guidelines. Doctors do not recommend testing children for H. pylori if they only have a bellyache and no other symptoms. They also agree that an H. pylori test should not be a part of a routine health check.

 

Some parents worry that if their child has an H. pylori infection, it will lead to stomach cancer. However, compared to adults, children have a much lower risk of developing this cancer. In addition, of those children who do have H. pylori and receive proper medical treatment, up to 20% will be re-infected within a year. Therefore, testing for H. pylori is not an effective way to reduce the risk of cancer.

 

Children and adults who are infected with H. pylori receive the same course of treatment – one kind of antacid and two kinds of antibiotics, lasting 10 to 14 days. In the past, doctors would only prescribe seven days of medication, but recent research has found that it takes longer to effectively remove H. pylori.

 

Please do not underestimate the potential problems of children taking medicine for two weeks. Most children have trouble complying with the treatment because the medicine does not taste good and is difficult to swallow. Thus, parents will need to spend a lot of time ensuring their children actually take their medication. In addition, the stomach medication and antibiotics can cause side effects such as gastrointestinal discomfort and vomiting. Furthermore, even if the medication successfully treats the H. pylori, the stomach may release more stomach acid later, causing further abdominal pain.

  

With regards to H. pylori, laboratory tests and treatment regimens can often cause children more harm than good. If a child has no symptoms or only has abdominal pain, a doctor should give them a physical exam instead. More than 90% of stomach aches among children under the age of 5 are normal, with no underlying organ dysfunction or structural problems. Through a physical exam, the doctors can assess whether further examination is warranted, based on the child's growth, appetite, and presence of anaemia.