自我观察心跳规律 察觉异样及早求医

心脏科, 心胸肺外科

「把脉」是中医常用的诊症方法,但原来并非中医专利,原来在西方医学中,也可用把脉的方法,了解患者有否患有心房颤动。心房颤动是最常见的心律不整,约1%的华人患有此症。

 

要及早知道自己是否患有心房颤动,市民可先自行把脉,检查自己每分钟的心跳次数及心跳频率是否规律,一旦出现异常,便应尽快求医。正常人的心跳应为每分钟60至100下,而且应是有规律的「一下一下」。心房颤动患者的心跳可以时快时慢,而且没有规律,因而感到不适、头晕、气喘或胸口不适,但有约三至四成患者可能会没有明显症状。

 

心房颤动本身并非最可怕,医生最担心的就是它所带来的中风风险。心房颤动令心房不能有效地将血液泵进心室,令血液滞留于心房,导致血块形成;当血块流到脑血管时,便有机会造成严重的缺血性中风,因此,患者比正常人中风机会高出五倍;另外,如果患者同时患有其他高危因素,例如高血压,中风风险就会再增加。

 

尽管心房颤动未必有明显症状,但并非无迹可寻。近年,医学界提出把脉检测心房颤动,市民可以把脉的方式,检查左手或右手的脉搏,看看心跳频率是否规律;举例说,可把脉一段时间,感受自己的心跳是否持续「一下一下」,因出现心房颤动时首两下心跳可能正常,但第三下就会延误才出现。不过亦要留意,虽然大部份心跳不规律的成因都是心房颤动,但亦有机会是由其他疾病引致,所以如有怀疑,应及早求医,并遵循医生建议,接受其他检查。

 

要确认是否患有心房颤动,医生一般进行心电图检查,但此方法一般只会量度10秒的心律,惟部分心房颤动可能是间歇性出现的,有部分患者的心电图大部分时间也属于正常窦性心律,所以此类病人或需要接受24小时或更长时间的心电图检查。此外,一些简易心律监测器也是常见的诊断方法。

 

由于心房颤动会增加中风的风险,故此及早发现、接受适当治疗最为重要。市民平日可以尝试自行把脉,多了解自己的心律是否正常;一旦出现症状,则须找医护人员作详细检查。

Monitoring your heartbeat for proactive heart-health

19 August, 2020

Cardiology, Cardio-thoracic Surgery

 

“Pulse-taking” is commonly used for diagnosis in traditional Chinese medicine, but it’s also used in Western medicine to check for atrial fibrillation, the most common form of arrhythmia. About 1% of Chinese population suffer from this condition.

 

To see if you have atrial fibrillation, first check your own pulse for a regular rhythm and your heart rate per minute. If either seems unusual, consult your doctor immediately. The resting heart rate of a healthy adult should be about 60 to 100 beats per minute (bpm), and it should have a regular “beat”. The heartbeat of people with atrial fibrillation can sometimes be too fast or too slow, and irregular, which may cause them to feel unwell and experience dizziness, breathlessness, or chest pain. About 30% to 40% of people with the condition, however, may not have any obvious symptoms.

 

Atrial fibrillation on its own is not the main issue: what concerns doctors most is the risk of stroke caused by it. By preventing the heart from effectively pumping blood from an atrium (upper chamber) to a ventricle (lower chamber), atrial fibrillation causes blood to be left behind to form clots. When these blood clots flow to the cerebral blood vessels, there is a chance they may cause a severe ischemic stroke. People with atrial fibrillation are five times more likely to suffer a stroke compared to the average person. If other high-risk factors are also present, such as hypertension, the risk of stroke is even higher.

 

Although atrial fibrillation may not have obvious symptoms, it is still detectable. In recent years, the medical community has proposed self-monitoring of the pulse, in either hand, for a regular heart rhythm. Where the beat is regular, people are advised to continue taking the pulse for longer period, since the first two beats may be normal, but the third beat earlier or delayed. Although atrial fibrillation is the most common cause of irregular heartbeat, there are other causes to consider. When in doubt, seek medical advice as soon as possible, and follow your doctor’s instructions for further testing and examination.

 

Doctors generally confirm atrial fibrillation through an electrocardiogram (ECG), but this method only measures the heart rhythm for ten seconds, while atrial fibrillation may occur intermittently and thus present as a normal sinus rhythm on a patient’s ECG. Some patients may be asked to undergo a longer ECG examination, lasting for at least 24 hours, to confirm their condition. Simple heart rate monitors in the form of handheld devices are also commonly used to diagnose atrial fibrillation. 

 

Because atrial fibrillation increases the risk of stroke, it is imperative that the condition is detected and treated early. You can take a proactive approach by checking your own pulse daily to confirm your heartbeat is normal, and call your doctor to arrange for a check-up if anything seems wrong. By taking a few minutes each day, you can save yourself a world of heartache!