心脏衰竭是否必然?

2018年 10月 25日

心脏科, 心胸肺外科

Dr.MichaelChan_HKEJ_20181025.jpg#asset:52110

   

心脏衰竭是指心脏功能减弱,因而无法泵出足够血液,以供应全身器官所需,严重可威胁患者性命。事实上,任何心脏疾病若处理不当,都有机会演变成心脏衰竭,但并不等于无法避免。只要心脏衰竭的成因,并及早求医和接受治疗,便可作有效预防。

 

心脏衰竭可以是原发性,亦可能因各种心脏疾病而引致,较为常见的病因包括心肌梗塞、严重血管病、冠心病、心瓣疾病及先天性心脏病等;另外,其他原因如糖尿病、甲状腺机能亢进症及酗酒等因素,都会令心脏肌肉受损,增加出现心脏衰竭的风险。

 

一旦患上心脏衰竭,心脏泵血的能力会受到影响,患者的活动能力会明显下降,而且容易气喘。一些病情较严重的患者或不能躺平,半夜甚至因气喘而不能入睡,并出现脚水肿或肺水肿。若心脏衰竭患者本身患有相关的心脏疾病,他们亦会出现心绞痛、头晕或心跳快等症状。

 

需要注意的是,心脏衰竭可分为四级严重程度,第一级患者的运动力不会受到影响,而第四级则属最严重,患者即使坐定时也会感到气喘,死亡率偏高。

 

要诊断心脏衰竭,医生一般会先透过超声波及X光检查,为患者找出病因,继而再对症下药,例如进行心脏手术或血管造形手术(即「通波仔」)等。

 

治疗方面,必须针对心脏衰竭的成因入手。简单来说,只要及早控制导致心衰的病因,已可避免心肌进一步受损,减低心脏衰竭恶化的机会。另外,大部份治疗心脏衰竭的药物都可减少心脏负荷、防止心脏发大加剧,而有些药物亦有机会改善心脏功能,医生会按照个别患者的病情而调节用药剂量,以稳定心脏情况。至于情况较严重的患者,医生或会考虑为他们植入仪器,例如心脏双室起搏器等,以重整心脏跳动。


除了药物治疗外,患者亦应著重非药物治疗,从而达致更好的疗效。饮食上,患者要限制每天摄取水份的份量,并实行低盐饮食,避免身体不能排出多余的水份而造成水肿;另外,患者亦要定期覆诊,让医生密切监测病情、适当地调节用药。

Loading...
发生错误。
Thank you for your input.

Is heart failure inevitable?

19 August, 2020

Cardiology, Cardio-thoracic Surgery


Heart failure is the weakening of the heart muscle to the point that it can no longer pump enough blood to supply the other organs, which can seriously threaten a patient’s life. If heart disease is not handled properly, it can lead to heart failure. This doesn’t mean it’s unavoidable, though. As long as the cause is found and timely medical treatment is sought, the condition can be turned around.

 

Heart failure primarily occurs on its own, or it can be caused by various heart diseases. The more common causes include myocardial infarction, severe vascular disease, coronary heart disease, heart valve disease, and congenital heart disease. Other health issues such as diabetes, hyperthyroidism and alcoholism can also damage the heart muscles and increase the risk of heart failure.  

 

Once heart failure sets in, the heart’s ability to pump blood is affected, so the patient’s mobility will noticeably decline, and they will be easily winded. Some patients with severe conditions may be unable to lie down or sleep through the night due to shortness of breath – coughing and wheezing fits brought on by fluid retention in the lungs. Heart failure could also cause fluid retention in other parts of the body, such as foot edema or pulmonary (lung) edema. If patients have a underlying heart disease, they will also experience symptoms such as angina, dizziness, or a fast palpitation.

 

Heart failure can be divided into four levels of severity. At the first level, the patient’s exercise performance is unaffected, while at the fourth and most severe level, even sitting leaves patients breathless. This level is associated with a high mortality rate.

 

To diagnose heart failure, doctors usually use a heart ultrasound and chest X-ray to seek out the possible causes, before deciding on the most suitable course of action, such as heart surgery or percutaneous coronary intervention (angioplasty).

 

To treat heart failure, you have to address the cause. By getting the cause under control early, we avoid further damage to the heart muscle, lowering the risk of worsening heart failure. Most medicines for heart failure also help to reduce the burden on the heart and keep it from enlarging (heart failure is associated with enlargement of heart chambers), while some medicines may even be able to improve the heart function. Dosage is based on the individual patient’s condition and tolerance; for those with more serious conditions, doctors may consider implanting a device, such as a bi-ventricular pacemaker, to stabilise their heartbeat.

 

Of course, for the best results, in addition to medication, patients should also focus on their diet and lifestyle, starting with limiting their daily water intake and going on a low-sodium diet to avoid edema. Regular follow-up visits are a must, too, to allow doctors to closely monitor their condition and adjust their medications if needed.