毛细支气管炎与感冒相似 家长小心勿混淆

儿科

看到小朋友出现多痰、发烧、咳嗽、流鼻水等征状,相信很多家长都会认为孩子是患上感冒了,但假如孩子伴随著气促的问题,就可能要小心是毛细支气管炎作怪!

 

王太(化名)的女儿嘉嘉(化名)刚好一个月大,早前就因连续咳嗽3天,王太于是抱著嘉嘉向儿科医生求诊。医生检查后发现,嘉嘉不但咳嗽,还有发烧、呼吸急促的征状,而且心跳过快,每分钟多达200下,故建议将她送院诊治。

 

送院后,医护人员为嘉嘉安排鼻水测试,证实她感染呼吸道合胞病毒。翌日,嘉嘉的咳嗽越来越严重,医生更听到其肺部出现杂声,再经医生评估后确定她患上呼吸道合胞病毒引起的毛细支气管炎。

 

港怡医院儿科专科医生沈泽安医生表示,毛细支气管炎是由病毒引起,3岁以下的小朋友是高危一族,主要是因为他们的免疫系统仍未发展成熟,较易受到感染,身体亦需较长时间才能消除病毒;此外,小孩子经常摸鼻子、擦眼睛,卫生意识欠佳,亦会增加感染风险。

 

「一旦感染,患者的微小呼吸道会因发炎而肿胀和收窄,因而诱发气喘、多痰、发烧、咳嗽、流鼻水等征状,亦可能会有呕吐或肚泻。由于征状与感冒非常相似,不时有家长混淆毛细支气管炎与感冒,但其实感冒一般不会引致气促,家长可以提高警觉。」沈医生解释。

 

沈医生指,上述征状大多在10天内自然退去,假如小朋友只有轻度征状,可先观察两至三天,留意病情有没有改善;但若病情恶化,患者或会出现呼吸衰竭,甚至感染肺炎。因此,如家长发现小朋友不断呕吐、呼吸困难、食欲不振、小便量少、持续发烧5天不退等,便必须尽快求医。

 

目前,毛细支气管炎暂未有有效治疗药物,但可用药物纾缓征状,例如使用退烧药、口服或吸入式气管舒张剂等,医生亦会按情况安排高浓度盐水雾化治疗,改善咳嗽和气促等征状。家长需留意一点,由于毛细支气管炎属病毒性感染,故并不需使用抗生素治疗。

 

除此以外,沈医生亦提醒家长,要适时为小朋友适当补充水份,以助退烧和防止脱水;另可给予孩子进食他们喜爱的食物,解决食欲不振的问题。临床所见,不少毛细支气管炎个案都因家中有人吸烟而令病情恶化,须入院治疗。为小朋友的健康著想,家人应停止吸烟,以免香烟烟雾或身上的烟灰影响小朋友的气管,使病情恶化。


所谓预防胜于治疗,沈医生建议家长要多教育小朋友提高卫生意识,如勤洗手、防止揉眼、擦鼻,并应及早注射流感、肺炎疫苗,减低患上毛细支气管炎和肺炎的风险。

  

至于嘉嘉在接受雾化治疗后,咳嗽便逐渐减少,食欲亦有所改善,身体亦慢慢康复,留院4天后便可出院。

How can parents tell the difference between bronchiolitis and the common cold?

17 July, 2020

Paediatrics


When a child develops phlegm, a fever, a cough, or a runny nose, most parents rightly assume they just have a common cold. However, when a child's symptoms are accompanied by shortness of breath, you should be careful for signs that they are suffering from bronchiolitis.


Take the case of Mrs Wong and her daughter Kaka as an example. When Kaka was one month old, she developed a cough that lasted for three days. Because of this, Mrs Wong brought her to a paediatrician for a consultation. During the examination, the doctor discovered that Kaka not only had a cough, but was feverish and short of breath. Her heart was also beating extremely fast, up to 200 beats per minute. Because of this, the doctor recommended that she go to a hospital for further treatment.

 

At the hospital, the medical staff tested Kaka's nasal mucus and determined that she had a respiratory syncytial viral infection. The next day, her condition worsened, with symptoms that included serious coughing and a crackling sound in her lungs. After an evaluation, the doctor confirmed that the respiratory syncytial virus had caused bronchiolitis.

 

According to Dr Phillip Sham, a Paediatric Specialist at Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong, children under three have a high risk of getting bronchiolitis. Since their immunisation systems aren't fully developed, once they get infected with a virus, their bodies will take longer to eliminate it. In addition, children in this age group frequently touch their nose and rub their eyes, which can further increase the risk of infection.

 

"When a child is infected, their tiny respiratory tract swells and narrows due to inflammation, which can trigger symptoms such as sputum, fever, coughing, or a runny nose, sometimes even followed by vomiting and diarrhoea," Dr Sham explains. "Since these symptoms are similar to the common cold, parents may simply assume that is all it is. However, they should be warned that a common cold generally does not cause any shortness of breath."

 

Dr Sham notes that most of the symptoms of bronchiolitis mentioned above will gradually go away within 10 days. If a child's symptoms are mild, parents can simply observe them for two to three days to see if the situation improves. But if their condition worsens, the child might be at risk of respiratory failure or pneumonia. If your child is constantly vomiting, having difficulty breathing, experiencing loss of appetite, having trouble urinating, or has a persistent fever for five consecutive days, it's important to seek medical treatment as soon as possible.

 

Although there are no effective treatments for bronchiolitis currently, there is medicine that can relieve its symptoms, including antipyretics and oral or inhaled bronchodilators like albuterol. Based on the patient's situation, the doctor may also prescribe a highly concentrated saline nebulization treatment to help with coughing and shortness of breath. Antibiotics are not applicable for bronchiolitis, as it is a virus infection.

 

Dr Sham also notes that it is important to make sure your child drinks plenty of water to bring down their fever and prevent dehydration. You may also feed them foods they like to counter their loss of appetite. Finally, studies have revealed that bronchiolitis cases can get worse in households with smokers. Therefore, to safeguard your child's health, family members should abstain from smoking to avoid irritating their tracheas with smoke or ash.

 

However, it's always better to prevent illness than cure it. Dr Sham recommends that parents teach their children the importance of maintaining proper hygiene, washing their hands frequently, and avoiding rubbing their eyes or nose. If possible, having them vaccinated against influenza and pneumonia will further reduce their risk of bronchiolitis and pneumonia.

 

As for Kaka, after receiving nebulization therapy, her cough gradually went away, after which her appetite improved and her body recovered. After four days, she was healthy enough to be discharged.