免疫治療降晚期肺癌復發風險

臨床腫瘤科




肺癌是本港第二常見癌症,由於早期肺癌症狀不明顯,不少患者確診時都已屬中晚期,錯過了根治性治療的選擇。對於無法進行切除手術的肺癌患者而言,如果不能使用對應基因突變的標靶治療,主要都以化療及電療為主,但大部份患者的病情會隨時間持續惡化。近年,醫學界建議對合適中晚期非小細胞肺癌患者,在治療時加入免疫治療,以改善癌病的控制。PDL1免疫訊號較強的部分晚期患者甚至可只用免疫治療而無需接受化療。部分非轉移性的局部晚期患者,在同步做化療後可進行免疫治療作鞏固治療,有助降低復發風險

 

根據2017年資料顯示,本港有5,178宗肺癌新症個案,而且近年的個案數字有上升趨勢,估計與人口老化有關。同時,由於肺癌較難於早期確診,病發時較多已屬中晚期,加上部份患者的年齡較大,所以它成為「頭號癌症殺手」。

 

在設定治療肺癌的治療方案時,醫生主要會以肺癌類別,期數及腫瘤的分子醫學特性作出選擇。在肺癌種類方面,可分為非小細胞肺癌及小細胞肺癌,前者可再細分為腺癌、鱗狀細胞癌及大細胞癌等,後者亦包括有小細胞表皮癌及低分化神經內分泌癌等。

 

針對沒有帶有基因突變的非小細胞肺癌而言,第一、二及部份三期患者都可接受腫瘤切除手術。若第一期患者年紀較大,或因為身體狀況不能做手術則可轉用立體定向消融電療。非轉移性的中晚期患者中的第3A期患者可先接受化療或配合電療,然後再作手術;而不能夠進行手術治療的第3B期患者就需接受同步電療及化療,若治療效果良好,可接著進行為期一年的免疫治療作鞏固治療。對於已轉移的第四期患者,紓緩性治療包括化療或電療是較適合的治療方案,而不少患者在進行化療時可加入免疫治療。如果腫瘤細胞的PD-L1 免疫訊號高於50%,可只用免疫治療。

 

至於有基因突變的肺癌患者,早至中期的治療與無基因突變的肺癌相若。最新研究結果顯示1-3A期帶有EGFR基因突變患者,在手術後接受為期三年的第三代標靶藥治療可以大幅改善無病存活率。如果已是晚期,則會使用相應基因突變種類的標靶治療;若治療開始失效,會再作驗血或作活檢,檢查是否有新的基因突變適合轉用新一代的標靶藥物,否則便需接受化療。

  

在使用免疫治療作鞏固治療方面,現時主要會使用PD-1抑制劑及PD-L1抑制劑,它們可重新「啟動」患者的自身免疫系統去攻擊癌細胞,效果相比化療會較持久,而且副作用較少,常見的副作用包括疲倦、腹瀉、皮疹及肺炎,但大多情況屬輕微。

 

曾有一名50多歲的女士,從不吸煙,早前因腹脹及骨痛求醫,結果確診並無帶有基因突變的第四期非小細胞肺癌,癌細胞已轉移至肝臟、縱隔及遠端淋巴結及骨骼。其後,醫生檢驗其腫瘤細胞的PDL-1指數為45%,適合作免疫治療合併化療,所以為她進行化療及免疫治療。治療後,其症狀得以紓緩,肺及肝功能亦有改善,病情受控,而且身體狀態比以前理想,體重有所回升,生活質素良好。及後,她在接受數個月鞏固免疫治療後病情再有惡化跡象,血液及活檢測試發現她有罕見的基因突變,現在正接受標靶治療,病情亦再有改善。

Immunotherapy reduces the risk of recurrence in advanced lung cancers

Clinical Oncology




Lung cancer is the second commonest cancer in Hong Kong. Since early lung cancer is rarely symptomatic, the great majority of patients are diagnosed at locally advanced or metastatic stages not amenable to curative treatment. For patients with advanced lung cancer who are ineligible for surgery, targeted therapy will be preferred if the cancer harbors specific genetic mutations; otherwise chemotherapy and radiotherapy will be the conventional mainstay treatment options. However, almost all such patients will progress with time. In recent years, immunotherapy has been incorporated in the treatments of eligible advanced non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) patients, with a view to improving cancer control. Metastatic patients with strong PDL1 signals can even be treated with immunotherapy alone without chemotherapy. Some patients with non-metastatic but locally advanced cancer can also be treated with immunotherapy as maintenance therapy after chemo-radiotherapy, which has been shown to reduce the risk of cancer progression. 


According to the data from the Hong Kong Cancer Registry, 5,178 lung cancers were diagnosed in Hong Kong in 2017. An increasing number of lung cancer diagnosis has been observed in recent years, which may be due to both a growing and ageing population. Lung cancer is currently the most lethal cancer in Hong Kong, as most patients are usually diagnosed in advanced stages, and a significant number of patients are diagnosed at a relatively old age. 


In formulating the treatment strategies for lung cancers, the histological types and stages of lung cancer, as well as the molecular characteristics of the cancer are key factors. In general, lung cancers can be categorized as either NSCLC and small cell lung cancer (SCLC). While the former can be subdivided into various histological subtypes such as adenocarcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, and large cell carcinoma, the latter comprises of small cell carcinoma and poorly differentiated neuroendocrine carcinoma. 


For those NSCLC without carrying genetic mutations, surgical resection should be offered to those patients with stage 1, stage 2, and some stage 3 cancers. Stage 1 patients who are too old or medically ineligible for surgery can instead receive stereotactic ablative radiotherapy. For non-metastatic stage 3A patients, they should receive adjuvant chemotherapy and/or radiotherapy before surgery; while inoperable stage 3B patients should be administered concurrent loco-regional radiotherapy and chemotherapy. If the chemo-radiotherapy works well, patients can then be administered additional immunotherapy for 1 year as a maintenance treatment. For stage 4 metastatic patients, palliative chemotherapy or radiotherapy are appropriate treatment options, and in many patients, immunotherapy can be added to the chemotherapy for better and more durable cancer control. When there is a high proportion (>50%) of PD-L1 expression in the tumour cells, immunotherapy alone as the sole treatment has been shown to be a better treatment than. 


Treatment approaches for early and intermediate stages of NSCLC carrying genetic mutations do not differ from those without genetic mutations. According to a recent study, disease-free survival was significantly improved in patients with stage 1-3A EGFR mutated lung cancers who received third generation targeted therapy treatment for three years as postoperative adjuvant therapy. Late stages will be treated by various targeted therapy drugs (tyrosine kinase inhibitors) which pinpoints the corresponding genetic mutations. When cancer progression occurs despite receiving targeted therapy, another blood test or biopsy will be performed to identify if there is any new genetic mutation that allows adoption of newer generation of targeted therapy drugs. Without such mutations, patients will be treated with chemotherapy. 


PD-1 and PD-L1 inhibitors are now the main immunotherapies used as maintenance treatment. They can “reactivate” the autoimmune system of cancer patients, which will then allow the immune cells to recognize and attack the cancer cells. Such treatment, if effective, may provide a more durable effect and incur fewer side effects compared with chemotherapy. Common side effects of immunotherapy may include fatigue, diarrhoea, skin rash, and rarely pneumonitis, with most of them being relatively mild and manageable. 


A lady at her 50s who never smokes sought medical advice for her abdominal distention and bone pain, and she was then diagnosed with stage 4 NSCLC with no common genetic mutations identified. The PD-L1 expression of her tumor cells was 45%, and she was therefore administered with both chemotherapy and immunotherapy. Upon initial cancer control after a few cycles of treatment, her symptoms became much alleviated with improved lung and liver functions.  There was also a significant improvement of her general status, quality of life and her body weight. After a few months of maintenance immunotherapy, her disease subsequently progressed. Fortunately, blood test (as liquid biopsy) and tumor biopsy revealed a rare genetic mutation and she was then offered a corresponding targeted therapy drug, leading to further cancer control.