两大饮食法则助降血压 或可免用药

肾病科

  

相信不少港人也知道低盐饮食的重要性,尤其是对高血压患者而言,减少摄取钠质有助他们控制病情,但鲜有人知道,原来还有一种被国际科研证实能有效降血压的饮食法—Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH),结合低钠饮食效果更佳,对徘徊于高血压界线的市民来说,积极从饮食著手控制,说不定可以避免服药!

 

高血压后果严重勿轻视 饮食习惯影响大

当身体摄取过多钠质,会增加血管内的水份滞留,血液量随之上升而增加血压,加重心脏负担,故多年来均建议市民应避免摄取过多盐份,减少钠质吸收,尤其是已患高血压的患者,以免病情持续恶化。港怡医院肾脏透析中心总监、肾病科名誉顾问医生卢维基解释,「高血压本身毫无明显症状,但情况持续将诱发中风、心脏病、肾衰竭等不同严重疾病,绝不能轻视,而良好的饮食习惯正是预防的关键一步。」

 

卢医生续指,港人常当「外食族」,容易摄取过多钠质而不自知,资料显示,港人平均每天摄入逾10克钠质,远超世卫建议的5克。据卫生署于2014至2015年度进行的人口健康调查结果所示,本港15至84岁人士的高血压患病率为27.7>#span###,当中约一半人本身并不自知,加上近年高血压有年轻化趋势,市民有必要及早留意血压变化,尽早开展健康的饮食习惯,预防高血压及其相关并发症。

 

经评估后轻微患者可采用非药物治疗

值得留意的是,美国心脏协会已收紧高血压的指标,由昔日的140mmHg(上压)/90 mmHg(下压),改为130/80mmHg,若发现血压高于此标准,即属高血压。「其中,高血压可细分为三期(详见下表),分别代表其严重程度和患心血管疾病的风险。若非最严重的第二期,而医生评估过患者未来10年内患心血管疾病的风险低于一成,患者仍可考虑透过非药物治疗来改善病情,包括饮食及运动。」卢医生说。

 

分期

上压/下压指标

前期

120-129/70-79 mmHg

第一期

130-139/80-89mmHg

第二期

140/90mmHg或以上

 

研究:低钠饮食X DASH「双剑合壁」有效降血压

除了广为人知的低纳饮食,近年亦有研究证实DASH饮食法能有效降血压,「针对血压正常人士,可分别降低上压6mmHg及下压3mmHg;而高血压患者更可分别降低11mmHg及6mmHg,降压效果显著。」卢医生说,此饮食法的重点在于增加钾质、镁质及钙质的摄取量,如蔬果、果仁类、低脂奶类、高纤维食物,以预防或控制高血压。同时,应减少甜食、添加糖饮品、高饱和脂肪酸食物,并以白肉取代红肉。

他引述《美国心脏学会期刊》一份有关低钠饮食、DASH饮食法与血压关系的报告指出,同时采用DASH及低钠饮食的高血压患者,比单单采用其中之一种的效果更为明显,而且血压越高,效果越明显—第二期患者可降低上压达9.7至20.8mmHg、第一期患者则可降低上压7.5mmHg、而前期患者亦可降低5.3mmHg。有见及此,卢医生建议患者不论属于哪期,均应积极考虑跟从两大饮食原则,配合适量运动,妥善控制血压,预防并发症来袭。

Loading...
发生错误。
Thank you for your input.

Controlling Hypertension through Diet

24 January, 2020

Nephrology


When it comes to hypertension, many Hong Kongers are aware that reducing salt consumption through a low-sodium diet can help control the condition. Less well-known locally is the Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH) diet, which is especially effective to lower blood pressure when combined with a low-sodium diet. This extra step makes it possible for some hypertension patients to forego medication by actively managing their diet instead.


Hypertension: A condition with serious consequences  

Hypertension is a condition when blood pressure is abnormally high, often related to overconsumption of sodium, which causes excess fluid retention in the blood vessels. Increased blood volume raises blood pressure and increases strain on the heart. Over the years, doctors have advised people to reduce salt intake, especially if they already have hypertension. As explained by Dr Lo Wai Kei, Director of the Dialysis Centre and Honorary Consultant in Nephrology at Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong, "Hypertension itself has no obvious symptoms, but over time it can lead to serious diseases such as stroke, heart disease, and kidney failure. We cannot take it lightly. Changing our eating habits is a key step in its prevention."

Dr Lo also pointed out how easy it is to underestimate one's salt consumption, especially for Hong Kongers who eat out frequently. Figures show that Hong Kongers consume 10g of sodium on average each day, far exceeding the 5g recommended by the World Health Organization. According to the Population Health Survey 2014/15 conducted by the Department of Health, 27.7% of Hong Kongers between the ages of 15 and 84 suffer from hypertension, and about half of them were unaware of the situation. In recent years, doctors have seen increasingly younger patients with hypertension as well. To turn the tide on this public health concern and prevent hypertension and its complications, we need to go to the source, and start with a healthier diet.

  

Non-drug treatment for mild hypertension patients

The American Heart Association has adjusted its definition of high blood pressure, revising it from 140/90 mmHg (systolic/diastolic) to 130/80 mmHg: hypertension is defined as blood pressure higher than this standard. Dr Lo explains the stages (see the table below). “Hypertension can be further categorised into three stages, representing its severity and the risk of cardiovascular diseases. If you are not in stage 2, the most serious stage, and your doctor says your likelihood of developing cardiovascular diseases is lower than 10%, you can try improving your condition with non-drug treatment, including diet and exercise.” 


Stage

Systolic/diastolic

Prehypertension

120-129/70-79 mmHg

Stage 1

130-139/80-89 mmHg

Stage 2

140/90 mmHg or above



Research: Combining low-sodium and DASH diets helps lower blood pressure

In addition to the widely known low-sodium diet, research in recent years has proved that DASH is effective in reducing blood pressure. “For people with normal readings, it helps lower blood pressure by 6/3 mmHg, and is even more effective for those with hypertension, reducing it by 11/6 mmHg,” said Dr Lo. The DASH plan helps prevent or control high blood pressure with foods that are rich in potassium, magnesium and calcium, such as fruits and vegetables, nuts, low-fat milk, and high-fibre foods. It also emphases reducing one’s intake of sweets, drinks with added sugars, and foods high in saturated fat, as well as replacing red meat with white meat.


Dr Lo cited a study on the relationship between diets and blood pressure published in the Journal of the American Heart Association, which found a diet combining low-sodium and DASH systems to be more effective in reducing blood pressure for hypertension patients than either approach taken alone. The higher the patient’s blood pressure, the more pronounced the effect: it showed the potential to lower the systolic pressure for stage 2 patients by 9.7–20.8 mmHg, stage 1 patients by 7.5 mmHg, and prehypertension patients by 5.3 mmHg. The results are significant that Dr Lo recommends patients of all the three stages to take this two-headed approach into consideration when talking to their healthcare provider about treating and controlling their hypertension.


Loading...
An error occurred.
Thank you for your input.