父母当心深情一吻 吻出夺命脑膜炎双球菌感染

儿科

  

脑膜炎双球菌感染听起来十分陌生,不过原来约有4%至35%的健康成年人的鼻咽中带有脑膜炎双球菌。一旦受到感染,病情可以十分严重,而且发展迅速,患者在感染后,死亡率高达一成。港怡医院儿科专科医生沈泽安医生就提醒大家要多加留意此病。

 

「脑膜炎双球菌可在短时间内入侵血液,导致脑膜炎双球菌血症,也可能入侵包围脑部及脊髓的内膜,引起流行性脑膜炎;常见的病征包括发烧、头痛、皮肤出现瘀斑、休克、呕吐、皮疹等,严重可导致脑部损害、智力发展迟缓、关节炎、肺炎等问题,甚至死亡。因此,如出现以上提及的征状,切勿迟疑,应马上求医。」沈医生说。

 

他续以七个月大的小丽(化名)加以说明,小丽的父母发现她突然发高烧,并且伴随食欲不振,由于觉得小丽情况不寻常,故非常果断地带她到医院求诊。当到达医院时,小丽不单高烧不止,还相继出现手脚冰冷、心跳颇快等征状,医护人员有见及此,便马上安排入院观察。

 

小丽的病况进展十分快速,入院不久,医生便随即安排抽血和一连串相关检查,很快便发现身上开始出现一块块瘀血色的红疹,而且久久未有散退或变淡的迹象。综合各种表征后,医生怀疑小丽是感染脑膜炎双球菌所致。

 

当务之急,当然是尽快治疗脑膜炎双球菌感染,使用抗生素便是当中的主要方法,因此,医生亦决定马上为她安排抗生素治疗。幸好,小丽在用药后,病情便慢慢好转,而报告在她留院两天后亦正式发出,确定小丽的病因是脑膜炎双球菌入血。医生于是继续为他安排抗生素治疗,其后终能康复出院。

 

沈医生表示,除了患者需要接受抗生素治疗,与患者紧密接触的人士亦同样需要接受监测及服用预防性药物。他同时提醒家长,为了小朋友著想,家长和孩子日常应保持个人及环境卫生,打喷嚏和咳嗽时掩盖口鼻,并立即洗手。

 

「成年人即使身体健康,其鼻咽亦可带有脑膜炎双球菌,吸入带菌者咳嗽或打喷嚏产生的飞沫,以及直接接触呼吸道分泌物都有机会传播此细菌。不少父母喜爱亲吻宝宝,但偏偏由两侧口角至鼻根连线组成的『脸部危险三角区』,是个布满通往大脑血管的区域,如家长属带菌者,免疫功能尚未发展成熟的婴幼儿很容易因为父母的深情一吻而不幸感染,危及性命。」沈医生解释。

  

为了孩子著想,父母如欲享受与孩子亲密接触的时光,事前便应谨记彻底洗手,并避开高危位置,以减低宝宝感染的风险。而在脑膜炎双球菌疾病风险较高的情况下,不妨咨询医生意见,考虑是否接种脑膜炎双球菌疫苗,以减低感染风险。

Parents, be careful when kissing your children Kisses can pass on a deadly meningococcal infection

17 July, 2020

Paediatrics

 

Meningococcal infections may sound strange, but in reality, between 4% and 35% of healthy adults have meningococcal bacteria in their nasopharynx. Once infected, a person's condition can become very serious and deteriorate rapidly, with a mortality rate of as high as 10%. Because of this, Dr Phillip Sham, a Paediatric Specialist at Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong, reminds everyone to be alert about this disease.

 

"Meningococcal bacteria can invade a person's bloodstream quickly, causing meningococcal bacteraemia. It can also invade the inner membrane surrounding the brain and spinal cord, causing epidemic meningitis. Common symptoms include a fever, headache, skin stasis spots, shock, vomiting, rashes, etc. This infection can cause severe brain damage, mental retardation, arthritis, pneumonia, and even death, so when these symptoms occur, please do not hesitate to seek medical help." Dr Sham said.

 

The story of Xiaoli (pseudonym), a seven-month-old infant, illustrates Dr Sham's concern. When Xiaoli exhibited a sudden high fever accompanied by a loss of appetite, her parents took her to the hospital immediately. When she arrived, in addition to a higher fever, she also had cold hands and feet and a fast heartbeat. After noticing these symptoms, the hospital staff immediately admitted her for observation.

 

Xiaoli's condition progressed very quickly. Shortly after admission, her doctors immediately arranged blood draws and a series of related examinations, where they discovered blood-coloured rashes on her body that lingered and didn't seem to fade. After assessing all of her combined symptoms, the doctors suspected that Xiaoli had a meningococcal infection.

 

These infections must be treated as soon as possible, usually with antibiotics. Thus, doctor gave her antibiotics right away, and her condition began to improve gradually afterwards. Two days after Xiaoli was admitted to the hospital, she was confirmed suffering from meningococcal meningitis. The doctor continued her antibiotic treatments, and she eventually recovered and was discharged.

 

Dr Sham notes that in addition to treating infected patients with antibiotics, those who are in close contact with these patients should be monitored and receive preventative drugs. He also reminds parents and children to maintain proper daily personal and environmental hygiene, including covering your mouth and nose when sneezing and coughing, and washing your hands immediately afterwards.

 

"Even healthy parents can still carry meningococcal bacteria in their nasopharynx. This bacteria can be spread by inhaling the droplets in a cough or sneeze, as well as through direct contact with respiratory secretions. For this reason, when you kiss your baby to show affection, it's important to avoid the 'face's dangerous triangle' – the region between the corners of the mouth and the base of the nose that contains many blood vessels leading to the brain. Infants and young children whose mature immune functions are not yet developed can be at risk of contracting this unfortunate infection from a kiss in this area from a parent who is a meningococcal bacteria carrier," Dr Sham explained.


To protect your child, remember to wash your hands thoroughly before being in close contact. In addition, avoid touching high-risk areas to reduce your baby's chance of a meningococcal infection. Finally, if you are in a location with a high risk of meningococcal infections, you may wish to consult a doctor and consider getting a vaccination to protect yourself.