皮肤癌可以致命 尽早发现有转机

2019年 4月 26日

皮肤及性病科

shutterstock_784747183.jpg#asset:56484


谈到皮肤癌,大家都知道与出现在皮肤上的恶性组织有关,而紫外线就是元凶,因此在烈日下要涂防晒乳和戴帽等。不过,你可能未知道一些更为重要的征兆或潜在风险!例如,眼睛的颜色原来是患皮肤癌的其中一个风险因素?治疗皮肤癌不一定要做大手术或化疗?你患上皮肤癌的风险有多高?又有甚么要注意呢?

皮肤癌是美国最普遍的癌症,每五个美国人当中,就有一人在有生之年确诊。澳洲的情况更值得关注,近八成的新癌症确诊个案都是皮肤癌,每三个70岁人士之中就有两人患上。许多人觉得皮肤癌在亚洲并不普遍,然而,非黑色素瘤皮肤癌其实是香港第七大常见癌症,近年的确诊数字亦引起了医学界的关注。

事实上,任何年龄、种族和地区的人士,都有机会患上皮肤癌,只是部分人属于较高危一族,例如:皮肤、头发和眼睛较浅色(尤其白人)、家族有患皮肤癌病历、年过65岁的长者、曾接受器官移植,又或有大量雀斑、癦痣、或癦痣有异常等,都应该定期接受皮肤癌检查。

皮肤癌虽危险,但治疗成效高

皮肤癌主要分为三类,分别是基底细胞癌(BCC)、鳞状细胞癌(SCC)及黑色素瘤(Melanoma)。最常见的是基底细胞癌BCC和鳞状细胞癌SCC,统称为非黑色素皮肤癌,而黑色素瘤则是最危险的一种。

好消息是,愈早检验出皮肤癌和接受治疗,需要进行大型手术、化疗,或出现变异和死亡的机会就愈低。举个例,假如在黑色素瘤还未扩散时就接受治疗,患者的五年生存率高达95%,而且通常只需要在患处进行简单的切除手术。不过,一旦黑色素瘤扩散至淋巴结,生存率就只有64%,万一已扩散至其他器官,生存率就只剩23%。晚期皮肤癌病人就只可接受较具伤害性的手术和化疗。

尽管及早发现皮肤癌非常重要,许多人还是对检查掉以轻心。美国皮肤病学会(AAD)在当地进行了一项皮肤癌筛查计划,结果发现,72%的参加者是黑色素瘤的高危人士,当中47%被诊断有疑似症状的参加者指,要不是接受筛查,根本就没想过求诊;而48%则表示从未进行过任何有关皮肤癌的自我检查。假如不是有这个免费的筛查计划,这些病人很可能一直不知道自己患癌,因而错过了黄金治疗时间。


皮肤癌检查是怎样做的

皮肤癌检查属于非入侵性检查,亦无需验血。皮肤科专科医生会采用皮肤透光显微镜(dermoscopy)进行详尽的目测检查,能够将皮肤放大10至20倍作详细分析。皮肤专科医生还会查问病人的生活习惯、过往病历和身健康情况等。此外,医生还会按ABCDE检查病人身上的斑、痣、癦有否异常,即是否对称(asymmetry)、边缘是否平滑(borders)、颜色有否异常或不均 (colours)、直径有否改变或超出正常范围 (diameter)、这些痣有否随时间改变了外观(evolving)等。另外,医生亦会留意病人是否有伤口没有正常愈合。整个检查过程一般需时约30分钟。

即使日常在家中,大家也要不时检查自己的皮肤,无需感到尴尬!专家建议,每个月都要自我检查皮肤一次,由头顶到脚板都要仔细留意。至于有些较难看见和容易被忽略的部位,例如头皮、耳背、手踭和膝盖后方等,你可以借用镜子帮助,又或叫伴侣或亲人帮你检查,当然之后也要记得替对方检查!假如发现有任何奇怪的地方或出现异常变化,就要尽早看医生了!


减低皮肤癌的风险

尽早发现能大大提升战胜皮肤癌的机会,不过最好当然是能有效预防皮肤癌。阴暗多云的天气不代表无需做防晒准备,某些云的类型和特征,其实会增加你暴露于紫外线的风险!因此,即使天气不炎热或多云,都要涂防晒乳,而且谨记每两小时要补涂一次。如你对自己的皮肤癌风险有任何疑问,可以向家庭医生或为你进行皮肤癌检查的医护人员查询,了解是否需要作进一步行动。



Loading...
发生错误。
Thank you for your input.

Early skin cancer detection is a life-saver

26 April, 2019

Dermatology & Venereology

shutterstock_784747183.jpg#asset:56484


When it comes to skin cancer, a malignant form of the disease that starts in the delicate tissues of the skin, what you don’t know can be deadly. For instance, we all know that the ultraviolet (UV) radiation in sunlight is a key factor, and that we should wear sunscreen and a hat when we go out on sunny days. But did you know that eye colour can be part of your risk factor, or that skin cancer doesn’t always require aggressive surgery or chemotherapy? Do you know what your odds of getting skin cancer really are, and what to watch out for?
 

Skin cancer is the most common cancer in the US, where one in five people will be diagnosed with it in their lifetime. Rates are higher still in Australia, where it accounts for 80% of all new cancer diagnoses and two in three people will be diagnosed with it by the age of 70. Many in Asia are under the impression that it isn't a widespread issue for us, but non-melanoma skin cancer is actually the seventh most common cancer in Hong Kong and the number of diagnoses in recent years has medical professionals concerned.

 

The simple truth is that people of all ages, races and regions can get skin cancer, but certain groups are at higher risk. People with fair skin and light-coloured hair or eyes (particularly Caucasians), those with a family history of skin cancer, seniors over the age of 65, organ transplant recipients, and people with many freckles, moles, and/or unusual moles, should all be regularly screened for skin cancer.

 

Skin cancer is dangerous, but also highly treatable.

There are three major types of skin cancers, em>asal cell carcinoma (BCC), squamous cell carcinoma (SCC), and melanoma. Of these, BCC and SCC are the most common, and are grouped together as non-melanoma skin cancers, while melanoma is the most dangerous.

 

The good news is that the sooner skin cancer is detected and treated, the better your chance of avoiding aggressive surgery, chemotherapy, disfigurement or even death. For instance, when caught before it spreads, melanoma has a 95% survival rate over a 5-year period, and often simple excision surgery of the affected area suffices to clear the disease. This rate drops to 64% once it spreads to the lymph nodes (regional stage), and to 23% after it spreads to the organs (distant stage). Aggressive surgery and chemotherapy are usually needed in the advanced stage.

 

And yet despite the obvious importance of early detection, many patients are unaware of the need for this particular medical examination. In a programme run by the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) to provide communities with skin cancer screening, 72% of participants were found to be at high risk for melanoma, while 47% of those diagnosed with a suspicious lesion admitted that they would not have thought to see a doctor for an examination prior to being screened, and 48% said they hadn't done any form of self-exam, either. These patients would have gone undiagnosed without the free screening programme.

 

What to expect from a skin cancer screening

A skin cancer screening is a very thorough visual inspection of your skin through special non-invasive device called dermoscope, which could magnify the spots 10-20 times and it could allow physicians for detailed analysis. The physician conducting the exam may also ask about your habits, medical history and general health while you are there. (Don't worry, there's no blood work involved.) The doctor will be checking moles and marks for ABCDE: asymmetry in shape, borders that are not smooth, colours that are unusual or uneven, diameter that has changed or is larger than normal, and anything evolving – any changes you might have noticed to the appearance of a mole. They’ll also be on the lookout for sores that aren’t healing properly. Overall, the examination should take about 30 minutes.

 

Once you get home, don't be embarrassed to get familiar with your own skin! Experts recommend a thorough self-exam once a month, starting from the top of your head and working down to the soles of your feet, including those hard-to-see and forgettable spots like your scalp, the back of your ears and behind your elbows and knees. You'll need mirrors for many of these locations, or you can ask a loved one to lend a hand – and do the same for them when you're finished. If anything looks strange or different, make an appointment with your physician as soon as possible.

 

Minimising your risk of skin cancer

Early detection improves your odds of beating skin cancer, but avoiding it in the first place is even better. Cloud cover is no substitute for sunscreen—certain types of cloud or cloud patterns may even increase your UV exposure—so wear sunscreen even on cool or overcast days, and remember to re-apply it every two hours. If you have concerns about your personal risk factors, talk to your family physician or the doctor performing your skin cancer screening and ask what additional steps you can take to stay safe and healthy.

Loading...
An error occurred.
Thank you for your input.