有关 [碳水化合物] 的迷思

2018年 10月 31日

營養服務

Myths-about-Carbohydrates2.jpg#asset:48519


近年来在坊间有很多关于进食碳水化合物(简称糖类) 的谣言,主要包括以下几点:

  • 患癌症病人不宜吃糖类,因为这些食物会喂养癌细胞,从而令它们增长;
  • 进食糖类是令人变肥或超重的原因;
  • 晚餐不要吃糖类而吃多些瘦肉类,这样便可以增加肌肉和减肥;以及
  • 吃太多糖类会令人思想变得蠢钝。

究竟这些谣言有几真确? 为何这些谣言可以通传而令人相信?现在让我们从医学角度去了解一下有关糖类:


究竟 [糖类] 是甚么? 它们有甚么功用?

[糖类]是一种储存在食物内的营养元素以供给人类和动物食用。主要分为两大类:

(1)    单糖或自由糖 - 包括沙糖、蔗糖、方糖、糖浆、糖蜜、蜂蜜、椰子糖及加糖果汁等;

(2)    复合糖类或淀粉质类- 包括面包、饭、薯仔、粉面类和淀粉质植物等。

 

所有糖类都可以被人体吸收分解成 [葡萄糖] 或 [单糖],并提供能量给我们。除了糖类,我们还从食物中摄取其他营养素包括脂肪和蛋白质,才能维持每天身体的活动、成长及修复的需要。因此糖类对人体来说是十分重要的。

 

我们需要多少糖类?

除了要维持每天的基本需要之外,也要视乎个人的活动消耗量。早于 1997 年,世界卫生组织 (简称世卫)曾与联合国粮食及农业组织发表一份有关「在人体营养内的碳水化合物」 的联合专业协商报告。当中在「贯穿人生循环的糖质」 的部分提及到有调查显示在已发展的国家中,儿童比成年人摄取更多从不同食物来源的糖类;而这样的饮食方法对这些儿童更有益处。从以上的情况而言,在提供我们每天热量所需的食物中,最理想是有五成半以上来自不同糖类食物。此外,在 2015 年,世卫也发布一项有关摄取单糖份量的指引及建议:


「无论是成年人或儿童都应该控制从单糖中摄取的热量至不超过整体饮食的 10%;而将其再减少至低于 5% 更有助控制肥胖及其他非传染性疾病。」

   

从注册营养师的角度而言,除非因个别疾病健康而需要短暂控制糖质进食量,否则一般人应该每天从糖质食物(以复合糖类为主) 摄取 50% 热量。

糖类是我们日常饮食中的重要营养素,因此不建议在没有特别原因的情况下吃  「非常低份量糖类餐」  。大家更应注意每天和每餐进食适量糖类以提供每日所需,并选择健康的种类。如果不是过量进食,以及用健康的煮法,进食糖类并不是导致体重上升的主因。举例说,吃饭或面类不会令你增肥;但如果吃得过量, 或用大量的煮食油烹调,这样做肯定会使你增磅。而进食全麦或含有较高纤维素的五谷糖类亦令人容易有饱肚感,更有助控制体重。相反,吃了一些含有高单糖份量的食物反而令人容易感到肚饿,更想吃多些食物。此外,到现时为止并没有研究实据显示进食糖类会对癌症病人有害和助长癌细胞扩散,亦不会令人迟钝。

如果你不清楚可以吃多少份量糖类,请咨询你的营养师。请放心吃糖类吧!

Loading...
发生错误。
Thank you for your input.

Myths about Carbohydrates

31 October, 2018

Myths-about-Carbohydrates2.jpg#asset:48519


Recent years, there are many rumours about eating carbohydrates (CHOs). These include:

  • cancer patients should not eat CHOs as this will feed the cancer cells and make them grow;
  • eating CHOs is the major cause of becoming fat or even overweight;
  • don’t eat CHOs at dinner time and eat more lean meat so as to gain muscles and to lose weight; and  
  • eating too much CHOs will cause adverse effects on one’s intelligence.

 

How true are these rumours?  Why do people believe in these?
Now let us understand more about CHOs from a medical point of view:


What are CHOs and their uses?

CHOs are nutrient substances found in food for human and animal consumption. CHOs are divided into two categories:

(i)    the simple/free sugars - table sugar, cane sugar, sugar cubes, syrup, treacles, honey, coconut sugar and added- sugar fruit juice

(ii)    the complex/starchy ones such as bread, rice, potato, noodles, starchy plants etc.

 

All CHOs can be broken down in human body into simple “glucose” or “sugar” and are used as energy source by us. Together with the intake of other nutrients including fat and protein, our bodies can maintain daily activities, growth and repair. This means that CHOs are essential nutrients to every human body.

 

How much CHOs do we need?

Apart from the basic requirement to maintain daily functions, it all depends on how much energy we consume every day. Early in 1997, the World Health Organisation (WHO” has published a report of a joint Expert Consultation on the topic “CHOs in Human Nutrition” in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations. It was mentioned in the section “Carbohydrate through the life cycle” that - In developed countries, surveys indicate that children have higher intake of carbohydrate from more sources than adults. In those countries, the diet consumed by children would seem to be more beneficial to them. In these situations, having at least 55% of carbohydrate energy from a variety of sources is the optimum. Besides, in 2015, WHO has published a guideline on “Sugars intake for adult and children” and recommended that:

“In both adults and children, reduce the intake of free sugars to less than 10% of total energy intake and a further reduction of the intake of free sugars to below 5% of total energy intake may be helpful to prevent obesity and various non-communicable diseases (NCDs) ”.


From a registered dietitian’s point of view, it is advised that unless the person needs a low CHO diet in the short term for disease control, all individuals should have 50% of total energy intake from CHOs (with complex CHOs as the majority energy supply) .

As CHOs are part of the important nutrient source from our diets, “a diet with very low CHOs” is not generally recommended. We should be aware of a reasonable CHOs intake on a per meal and per day basis and make the right choices of CHOs. With an appropriate level of intake and a healthy cooking method, CHOs consumption is not the main reason for weight-gain. For example, eating rice or noodles will not make you gain weight. But if someone eats more than the body requires, or uses an abundant amount of oil for cooking, then this surely contributes to weight increase. Also, eating wholemeal or high fiber CHOs could make you feel full more easily. On the contrary, foods rich in simple sugar would make you feel hungry easily and therefore you will eat more. Furthermore, no evidence-based study shows that CHOs are harmful to cancer patients by promoting the growth of cancer cells, nor would they make people react more slowly.

If you are not sure how much CHOs you should eat, consult your Dietitian. So no worries, eating CHOs is fine!