肾结石中心

尿路结石疾病在过去几十年间日益普遍。截至 2012 年为止,美国患肾结石疾病的男性占 10% ,女性则占 7.1%,相较于 1994 年增长了 70% ;而东南亚的相关患病率更高于西方国家,当中急性肾绞痛也占了急诊室案例的大多数。

本院的肾结石中心提供全面的肾结石疾病治疗与预防服务,旨在:

  • 及时为结石患者做出准确诊断,制定治疗方案
  • 预防肾结石的复发
  • 提高大众对于肾结石疾病的认识

我们的服务

本中心的跨专科医疗团队由泌尿科医生、肾科医生以及营养师组成,遵循国际标准规范,为急性或复发性肾结石患者提供一站式的全面护理

本中心采用最新微创手术对肾结石疾病进行治疗,如体外冲击波碎石术 (ESWL)、输尿管镜激光碎石 (URSL)、经皮肾镜取石术 (PCNL) 等,并采用如多尼尔冲击波碎石机、钬激光、输尿管软镜、超音波碎石机等当前最先进的仪器提供治疗。

除了施行手术以外,另外最重要的一环是预防尿路结石复发。通过对每位患者提供代谢评估,并与营养师和肾脏科医生携手为患者制定个人化预防复发方案。

地点:B 座一楼 — 诊所 H


服务时间:

  • 敬请预约
    • 逢星期二,下午三时至五时;
    • 逢星期三,上午九时至中午十二时;
    • 逢星期六,上午九时至十一时
        
  • 24小时紧急评估


我们的泌尿外科医生


医生诊金:

  • 初诊:港币$1,200 - $1,500
  • 覆诊:港币$800 - $1,000
      

备注:上述为医生诊金,并谨供参考,实际费用须视乎病人实际情况及个别医生而定。其他费用如手术、药费、化验费等另计,欢迎向入院登记及缴费处查询其他项目收费。

甚么是肾结石

在过去百年内,全球数据显示肾结石患病率有提高的现象,而估计每十人当中就有一人在一生中会患一次肾结石。

男性与女性在一生中患有肾结石的风险分别为 10% 与 7% ,男性首次发病一般会在 30 岁之后,但也可能更早发生。其他如痛风、糖尿病、肥胖等病症也可能提高肾结石的罹患风险。

虽然尿液看似为平常的液体,但其内含有数百种化学与矿物成分。尿液中的矿物质在饱和状态下会结晶,先形成砾石再最终形成结石。当尿液中含有过量矿物质或尿量因缺水而减少的情况下,结石便会形成。

在大约 90% 的情况中,肾结石的主要矿物成分为钙质,并通常结合草酸盐,磷酸盐或其他物质。在较少情况下肾结石会由尿酸(5-10%)或鸟粪石(5-15% )组成,在较稀有的案例中也可能会含有如胱氨酸或某些药物的成分。

  • 钙结石
    肾结石中大约 90% 为草酸钙或磷酸钙的钙化物,其中近 80% 的肾结石由钙质与草酸盐组成。
      
  • 尿酸结石
    尿酸结石是在人体分解蛋白质的过程中产生。尿液在偏酸性(pH<5.5)时处于尿酸饱和状态,含高动物蛋白(肉类 )的饮食更容易造成尿酸结石的生成,而其他风险因素还包括痛风、化疗或高细胞更新率疾病(如骨髓增生性疾病)。
     
  • 鸟粪石(感染性结石)
    鸟粪食由镁、铵、磷、碳酸钙和磷酸钙晶体组成,是复发性尿路感染的结果。某些尿道细菌可将尿液中的尿素分解为铵并生成尿碱。有些鸟粪石可长成特大结石并充满和呈现肾脏形状,因此被称为「鹿角石」。
      
  • 胱氨酸结石
    胱氨酸结石占所有肾结石的 1% ,是因某罕见基因遗传疾病导致尿液中胱氨酸含量过高而产生,可发生于孩童身上。

肾脏结石的形成过程可能缓慢并且毫无症状,但一旦从肾脏「跌入」输尿管中,(输尿管是连接肾脏与膀胱的幼细肌肉性导管),则可能造成以下三种状况。

iStock-1150786503.jpg#asset:173277

  • 疼痛
    肾绞痛是发生于人体最为剧烈的疼痛种类之一,是因为输尿管排尿受阻而肾脏承受压力所致。疼痛感一般会沿著尿路呈放射状散播,从背部开始再延伸到下腹、腹股沟甚至是生殖器部位。肾绞痛发生十分突然,疼痛会迅速变得难以忍受,并常伴随反胃与呕吐症状。当结石到达尿路下半部接近膀胱处时,则可能造成频尿、尿急、排尿疼痛等现象。
      
    iStock-1168361728.jpg#asset:173278
     
  • 血尿
    与肾脏结石相关的血尿可通过肉眼观察到或借由显微镜检测到尿液中含有大量红血球(微观血尿)。
      
      
  • 尿路梗阻
    若结石被卡在输尿管中会造成排尿受阻,导致肾脏受压、积水膨胀,此症状称为 「肾积水」。尿路若持续受阻可能会造成永久性损伤,肾脏隐藏性梗阻可能最终导致肾脏功能衰竭。

肾结石疾病诊断

诊断须通过放射成像方式确认,可包括下列几种成像技术:

  • 超声波扫描
  • X光检查(也称为KUB肾-输尿管-膀胱X光检查)
  • 静脉肾盂造影 (IVU)
  • 非显影剂电脑断层扫描


许多研究显示非显影剂电脑扫描是检测尿路结石的最精准成像方法,可以诊断1-2mm 细小结石。超声波准确度并非最高,但因其不具有辐射性,对于儿童与孕妇是首选方式;而静脉肾盂造影在过去为常用的方法,在现今已逐渐被电脑扫描取代,甚少使用。

其他目前常用的检测方法包括:

  • 感染症状(发烧、尿液分析)
  • 肾功能(血液分析)
  • 血钙与尿酸盐含量
  • 结石分析


某些复发性结石患者可能须接受包含 24 小时尿液收集与分析的全面性代谢检查,以协助医师确定结石复发预防方案。该代谢评估须待急性结石治疗后的四至六个星期方能进行。

肾结石治疗

肾结石根据大小与所处位置可通过以下各种方法治疗:

疗程的第一步是缓解疼痛,一般首选使用的药物是非类固醇消炎药,而某些患者则需要注射更强劲的止痛剂。

之后下一步则是松动结石让其通过尿液排出,其中通过摄取水份能帮助将结石冲出体外。小于 5 毫米的结石中有 68% 能自发性排出,但结石大小为 6 至 10 毫米的自发性排出率则会降至 47% 。

药物排石治疗:使用Alpha 受体阻断剂等药物能帮助松弛输尿管肌肉,提高结石自发性排出的机率。

对于体积较小的肾脏或输尿管结石是首选的治疗方法。其优点是入侵性小,风险低,无需全身麻醉。治疗之前先采用X光或超声波确定结石位置,再让患者平躺,使用碎石机仪器集中发射震波击碎结石,形成细小碎片以排出体外。碎石在排出体外过程中或许会感觉轻微疼痛或血尿。此手术一般以日间手术处理,结合静脉麻醉进行。

ESWL2.jpg#asset:173276

若结石被卡在输尿管中,外科医生可使用输尿管镜置入输尿管,在萤光屏直视下使用钬激光将结石击碎成粉状。对于体外碎石处理失败的肾结石,也可将一条细小灵活的输尿管软镜置入肾脏将结石击碎。此类手术一般采用全身麻醉进行,术后可能需要放置输尿管支架。一般术后第一天即可出院。

URSL_combined.png#asset:173274

大型结石 (超过2cm)较难使用输尿管镜处理,需通过经皮肾手术从肾脏中取出。,医生会在病人背部开一小创口,利用肾镜探入,并使用冲击波或超声波仪器将结石击碎。手术一般通过全身麻醉进行,出血及感染风险较高,病人通常需要在手术后住院观察数天。

PCNL.JPG#asset:173275

预防

对于个别患者,结石是由代谢问题引起的,需要通过特定评估与治疗方法进行处理。对于大多数患者而言,基因与环境的相互影响导致了结石的形成。

据估计,有 50% 的肾结石风险源自基因,是无法改变的因素。然而另外 50% 的风险来自于饮食、水份摄取、肥胖等环境因素。

医疗方案可根据不同病人个别制定。以下为一些预防结石的一般性建议,可供多数结石患者参考以降低结石风险:

体重过重是造成肾结石的一大风险因素。许多研究显示身重偏高的病人罹患结石的风险更高。肥胖症也会让结石治疗更为困难,即麻醉风险提高,体外碎石术时结石定位会更加困难。

Obesity_medicine_750-resized.jpg#asset:173283

大多数人其实都处于摄水不足的状态。生活忙碌、长期处于冷气或暖气环境、运动中丧失水份、搭乘长途飞机等因素,都容易导致长期缺水的状况

研究显示,提高水份摄取能有效降低结石复发。建议每日摄取两至三公升的水份,同时尿液应当呈浅色而非深黄色。

结石风险也取决于饮食习惯。为了个人整体健康以及降低结石风险,应当摄取鲜果、蔬菜、乳制品、全谷类等富高纤维的食物以维持饮食均衡。同时应当控制肉类的摄取(每日<100g),因动物性蛋白是造成结石的风险因素之一。除此之外,确保低盐含量的饮食也极为重要。

如欲了解更多相关资讯,请点击此处查阅更多可供结石患者参考的饮食建议。

Kidney Stone Centre

The prevalence of urinary tract stone disease is increasing over the last decades. As of 2012, 10% of men and 7.1% of women in the United States are affected by kidney stone, a 70% increase from 1994. The incidence in Southeast Asia is even higher than that of the western counterparts. Patients with acute renal colic contribute to a significant percentage of emergency department visit.

Our Kidney Stone Centre was a comprehensive centre for the treatment and prevention of kidney stone diseases. The aims of the centre are:

Our Services

Our multi-disciplinary team including urologist, nephrologist and dietician provide a single point of care for patient suffering from acute or recurrent kidney stones. Our staff are committed to provide the highest standard of care according to international guidelines. 

We treat kidney stones using the latest minimally invasive procedures such as extracorporeal shock wave lithotripsy, ureteroscopy and percutaneious nephrolithotomy. Our centre was equipped with state-of-the-art equipments such as Dornier shock wave Lithotripter, Holmium laser, flexible ureteroscope and ultrasound lithotripter. 

Apart from surgical treatment, the other important aspect is to prevent stone recurrence. We provide metabolic evaluation of every stone patient. We work hand-in-hand with dieticians and nephrologist to make individualised plans for recurrence prevention. 

Location: Clinic H, 1/F, Tower B

 

Service hours:

  • By appointment
    • Every Tuesday 3:00pm – 5:00pm ; 
    • Every Wednesday 9:00am - 12:00nn;
    • Every Saturday 9:00am - 11:00am
        
  • 24-hour emergency assessment

   

Our specialists:

  • Please view here for information

 

Consultation fees:

  • Initial: HK$1,200- HK$1,500
  • Follow Up: HK$800- HK$1,000


Remarks: The above charges refer to doctor consultation fees only and exclude fees for other procedures, medication, laboratory services, etc. The total charge is subject to the attending doctor's discretion and depends on the patient's condition. Details on ancillary charges are available at the Admission and Cashier Counters. 

About Kidney Stone

Over the last century there has been a global increase in the number of reported kidney stones. It is estimated that one in ten people will have a kidney stone at some time in their lives.

The lifetime risk of kidney stones is about 10% in men and 7% in women. In men, the first episode is most likely to occur after age 30, but it can occur earlier. Other diseases such as gout, diabetes, and obesity may increase the risk for kidney stones.

Although urine may look like a simple fluid, it's actually a complex liquid that contains hundreds of chemicals and minerals. If the minerals become supersaturated, they precipitate into crystals and grow into gravel, then stones. Supersaturation and stone formation occur if excessive amounts of a mineral are excreted into the urine or if the volume of urine is decreased by dehydration.

Around 90% of the time, the principal mineral in a kidney stone is calcium usually in combination with oxalate but sometimes paired with phosphate or other substances. Less often, kidney stones are composed of uric acid (5-10%) or struvite (5-15%). In rare cases, they contain other chemicals such as cystine or even certain medications.

  • Calcium stones
    Around 90% of kidney stones contain calcium either as calcium oxalate or calcium phosphate. Nearly 80% of all kidney stones are composed of calcium and oxalate.
         
  • Uric acid stones
    Uric acid is produced when the body breaks down protein. Urine becomes saturated with uric acid when it becomes more acidic (pH<5.5). People who consume high animal protein (meat) diets are more likely to form uric acid stones. Gout, chemotherapy, and disorders with high turnover of cells (e.g. myeloproliferative disorders) are also risk factors for these stones.
        
  • Struvite stones (infective stones)
    Struvite stones are composed of mixtures of magnesium, ammonium, phosphate and calcium carbonate phosphate crystals. These stones develop as a consequence of recurrent urinary tract infections. Some urinary bacterial can split the urea in the urine to form ammonium and also to make urine alkali. Struvite stones can grow very large, filling the contours of kidney - these are known as staghorn stones due to their shape.
      
  • Cystine stones
    Cystine stones account for only 1% of all kidney stones. They are due to a rare inherited genetic condition that results in high levels of cystine in the urine. There stones can occur in childhood. 

Stones that form in the kidney can grow slowly and cause no symptoms. However, when they "drop" out of the kidney and into the ureter, the thin muscular tube draining from kidney to bladder, they can cause three major problems.

iStock-1150786503.jpg#asset:173277


  • Pain
    It is called renal colic and it is one of the most intense of all pains. Renal colic is caused by obstruction of the flow of urine and pressure builds up in the kidney. The pain often radiate along the path of urinary tract, beginning high in the back over the kidney and travelling to lower abdomen, groin and even into the genitals. The pain begins suddenly and quickly becomes unbearable quickly. Renal colic is often accompanied by nausea and vomiting. When a stone arrives in the lower urinary tract close to the bladder, it can cause urinary frequency, urgency and dysuria. 
      
    iStock-1168361728.jpg#asset:173278
          
  • Haematuria (blood in urine)
    The haematuria associated with kidney stones can be visible to the naked eye or found to contain large number of red blood cells under a microscope (Microscopic haematuria).
         
  • Blockage
    When a stone lodges in the ureter, it blocks the flow of urine. Pressure builds up in the kidney, causing it to swell with fluid, a condition known as hydronephrosis. Permanent damage may occur if the obstruction is prolonged. Silent blockage of the kidney could result in the loss of kidney function. 

Diagnosis of kidney stone disease

Confirmation of the diagnosis requires radiological imaging. The following imaging modalities may be used:

  • Ultrasound
  • Plain X-rays (also known as KUB-Kidney-Ureters-Bladder)
  • X-rays with intravenous contrast (Intravenous urogram)
  • Non-contrast CT scan (computed tomography)


Many studies have now demonstrated that non-contrast CT is the best imaging method to detect even the smallest stones. Ultrasound are not quite as good, but because they don't use radiation, they are the first choice for children and pregnant women. The old standard, intravenous urogram, is rarely used in modern practice. 

Other necessary tests at the time of presentation include:

  • Evidence of infection (fever, urinalysis)
  • Kidney function
  • Blood levels of calcium and urate
  • Stone analysis

Selected patients with recurrent stone formation may require an extensive metabolic work-up with 24-hour urine collection and analysis. This can help doctors determine how best to prevent recurrent stone formation. The metabolic evaluation should be delayed until four to six weeks after acute stoned event has resolved. 

Treatments of kidney stone

Depending on the stone size and location, kidney stones can be treated by a number of methods:

The first step is to relieve pain. Oral medications, such as nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs is the treatment of choice. Some may require injections of powerful painkillers, such as narcotics. 

The next step is to dislodge the stone so it will pass in the urine. Fluids can help flush the stone out. 68% of stones less than 5mm will pass spontaneously, but the rate falls to 47% for stones that are 6 to 10mm.

Medical expulsive therapy: medications such as alpha-blocker can relax smooth muscles in the ureter, thus increasing the chance of spontaneous stone passage.

This is the treatment of choice if you have small kidney or ureteric stones. The stone is located using X-ray imaging or ultrasound scanning. While you are lying down, a machine called lithotripter sends targeted shock waves to break up the kidney stone into pieces small enough to be passed naturally. Sometimes you will experience pain as the stone fragments pass. This procedure is usually performed under anaesthesia as a day case. 

ESWL2.jpg#asset:173276


If the stone is stuck inside the ureter, a narrow instrument called ureteroscope can be passed up through the bladder and into the ureter. The stone is broken into dust using Holmium laser. For kidney stones that have not responded to ESWL, a small flexible ureteroscope can be passed to the kidney to break the stone. These procedures are usually done under general anaesthesia. A ureteric stent (a soft tube) may need to be inserted after the procedure. 

URSL_combined.png#asset:173274


Large stones may need to be surgically removed from the kidney. The surgeon make a small cut in your back and uses a telescopic instrument called nephroscope to break the stone up with shock waves or an ultrasound machine. The procedure is done under general anaesthesia, and you will usually need to stay in the hospital for a few days post-operatively. 

PCNL.JPG#asset:173275

Prevention

For a rare minority of patients, the risk of stones is due to metabolic problems that need specific evaluation and treatment. For the majority of stone formers, genetic and environmental factors inter-related to change the risk of stone formation. 

It has been estimated your genetic background is responsible for around 50% of the risk of kidney stones and there is not much you can do to alter this. However, the other 50% of the risk is due to environmental factors such as diet, fluid intake and obesity. 

Advice can be tailored for individuals but below is some general advice that will help most stone formers to reduce their risks of formal stones:

Being overweight is a significant risk factor for kidney stones. Several studies have demonstrated that patients with increased body mass index have a higher risk of stones. Obesity also makes stones harde to treat: there are greater risks of having anaesthesia and it is more difficult to target stones with lithotripsy.

Obesity_medicine_750-resized.jpg#asset:173283


Most people are dehydrated. As we lead increasingly busy lives, live in air-conditioned/heated environments, loses water during exercise and long haul flights we are chronically dehydrated. 

Increasing fluid intake has been shown to reduce stone recurrence. Aim for 2-3 litres a day, your urine should be colourless rather than orange or dark yellow.

Diet also contribute to your risk of stone formation. For your general health and risk of kidney stone formation, you should have a well-balanced high fiber diet. This means the diet should include fresh fruits, vegetables, diary product and whole grain products. You should limit your meat consumption (<100g/day) as animal protein is a risk factor. Finally a diet low in salt is important.

For more details, please click here to view our diet advice for stone formers.