儿童哮喘病

2017年 3月 21日

儿科

哮喘病是香港儿童最常见的慢性疾病,每十个儿童便有一个患上。若能及早控制病情,患有哮喘的儿童也可以健康生活和成长。


哮喘是甚么?

哮喘是一种导致气管发炎的过敏性疾病。急性哮喘会导致痉挛,甚至令气管壁肿胀而收窄气管,亦会使黏稠的分泌物积存而引致气管堵塞。很多儿童可能同时出现皮肤、鼻或眼部过敏。有家族过敏史的儿童更可能患有哮喘和其他过敏性疾病。


症状和病征

哮喘的症状包括呼吸困难、喘鸣、咳嗽多痰及胸口紧翳,有些儿童可能只出现咳嗽的症状。症状出现或消失均亳无征兆,于早上和晚间最为严重,症状严重时可令儿童在晚间醒来。


避免致敏原/诱因

接触到致敏原会诱发哮喘病。

  • 避免让儿童接触二、三手烟,有吸烟习惯的家人亦应戒烟。
  • 如儿童出现由运动诱发的症状,应避免在寒冷干燥的日子或空气污染的地方进行户外活动;请与医生商讨运动前是否需要服用缓解剂。 
  • 保持家居环境清洁,避免积存尘埃。有些患有哮喘的儿童对尘螨的排泄物过敏,这些微小虱虫常存于尘埃积存的地方,特别是床、窗帘和家具。
  • 大部份患有哮喘的儿童均毋须戒口。如病人认为哮喘可能由食物引起,请咨询医生意见。应保持均衡饮食,及培养良好饮食习惯。


药物 

目前没有根治哮喘的药物,正确用药和遵从医生指示是控制病情的关键,亦须确保儿童维持正常的活动量。大多数哮喘药都是属于吸入式。

  •  若儿童哮喘症状轻微及不常发作,只需使用吸入式气管扩张剂缓解症状;症状频繁的儿童则须每天服用预防性药物控制病情。请先与医生商讨,切勿自行停止服用预防性药物。
  • 哮喘症状轻微的儿童对口服预防性药物Leukotrienes拮抗剂产生反应,可单独使用。其副作用轻微,少数儿童服用后可能出现情绪不稳。
  • 目前为止,吸入式皮质类固醇是最常用和最有效治疗哮喘的预防性药物。常用剂量的吸入式类固醇是安全的,严重的副作用十分少见。儿童长期服用吸入式类固醇可能会导致成年身高轻微减少,但需平衡药物副作用与哮喘不受控制的风险。
  • 如症状不能单用吸入式类固醇控制,可一并使用Leukotrienes拮抗剂或长效支气管扩张剂。


Loading...
发生错误。
Thank you for your input.

Childhood Asthma

21 March, 2017

Paediatrics

Asthma is a common childhood illness, affecting about 1 in 10 children in Hong Kong. With appropriate care and use of medication, most children with asthma can live a normal life.

What is asthma?

Asthma is an allergic disease with inflammation of the airways. During an acute attack, the airways are narrowed and blocked due to spasm, swelling of the wall, and presence of thick secretions. Many children have associated allergy of the skin, nose, or eyes. Children with a family history of allergy are more likely to have asthma and other allergic diseases.

Signs and symptoms

Symptoms include difficulty in breathing, wheezing, coughing with phlegm and chest tightness. However, some children may only have cough as the presenting symptom.  These symptoms usually come and go, are worse at night or early in the morning, and may wake a child up from sleep.

Avoid allergens/triggers

Exposure to the allergens/triggers can induce asthma attacks.

  • Keep children away from second and third-hand smoke. Parents and household members should quit smoking.
  • Keep home environment clean and reduce dust exposure. Some children with asthmas are allergic to the excreta of house dust mites, which are tiny bugs that are present in areas with dust, such as beddings, curtains and furniture. 
  • Most children with asthma do not require dietary restrictions. Discuss with your doctor if you think the asthma symptoms may be related to food. Maintain a balanced diet and encourage a good eating habit.
  • If the child has exercise-induced symptoms, avoid outdoor activities during cold dry days and in polluted areas. Discuss with a doctor on the use of relievers before exercise.

Medications

There is currently no curative drug for asthma. Appropriate use of medications and good compliance is the key to good control of the disease, and to keep children having usual activities. Most of the drugs for asthma are in the form of inhalers.

  • For children with mild and infrequent attacks, only inhaled bronchodilators are needed as a symptom reliever during attacks. Children with more frequent symptoms will need a daily preventive medication to maintain control. Do not discontinue preventive medication without discussing with the doctor.  
  • Some children with mild asthma may respond to leukotriene antagonists, an oral preventive medication. Side effects are mild, but mood disturbances may occur in some children. 
  • Currently, inhaled corticosteroid is the most effective preventive medication for asthma. Usual dose of inhaled steroids are generally safe and serious side effects are uncommon. A small reduction in final adult height may be seen in children on long-term inhaled steroids. However, this has to be balanced against the risk of poorly controlled asthma.
  • In case symptoms cannot be controlled with inhaled steroids alone, leukotriene antagonist or long-acting bronchodilators may be added.